Modifying Linux guest default settings?

Discussion in 'Linux Virtual Machine' started by MichaelJ13, Jun 9, 2017.

1. MichaelJ13

MichaelJ13 Bit poster

I'm a professional Linux software developer who uses a MacBook Pro as my main desktop, and I do some of my embedded development and testing in Linux guest VMs running on my Mac. I'm a new user of "Parallels Desktop 12 for Mac Pro Edition," and I purchased Parallels because I was hoping for a better user experience than VirtualBox. However, I'm having trouble figuring out how to make it easier to configure my new VMs.

First of all, I will probably NEVER want to run any sort of Linux desktop within a Linux guest. I want to run Linux guest VMs for embedded systems-level C software development and testing, and I'm solely using "server" installs of Linux, and I do everything through OpenSSH and the command line.

I've created about four VMs so far, and I'm a bit frustrated by Parallel's focus on graphical desktops. The predominance of Windows icons is already annoying to a devoted UNIX user like myself, but what really irritates me is having to go through the configuration for each and every new VM to make the same repetitive configuration changes. Is there any way to automate this, and overwrite the "standard" defaults?

For instance, here's a list of everything I currently have to do manually:
    1. Go into "Options->Sharing" and add my custom shared folder that I use for transferring files to/from the Linux guests. I turn off "Shared Cloud" and "SmartMount", since it makes no sense for my situation.
    2. Go into "Options->Applications" and turn off "Share Linux Applications with Mac," and then click the silly, "Are you sure?" window. Of course I'm sure! I also disable, "Allow apps to switch to full-screen," because I don't have graphical applications on my Linux guests.
    3. I also go into "Options->More Options" and disable Apple Remote, since it makes no sense with an embedded Linux guest OS.