Networking connection for parallel 5

Discussion in 'Parallels Transporter' started by Hoh, Jan 27, 2010.

1. Hoh

Hoh Bit poster

Hi all expert there, I need enlightenment. I am a newbie.

I have 2 PCs, a WHS and recently bought a Mac.

My house networking: All PCs and MAC are wireless connection to a DLINK DIR855 router. The WHS is wired and a usb printer is connected to the router in the router's shareport.

Before i got the MAC, everything works fine, 2 PCs installed with the Dlink's usb shareport utility. They are able to connect to the printer anywhere, within the wireless range as well as accessing the WHS file.

Now I got the first MAC. It works fine, able to connect to the networking, accessing WHS file through the wireless. As everybody knows, MAC are not able to work with Dlink shareport, therefore, access the printer through wireless in not possible (yet).

As I just got introduced by my friend that Parallel desktop 5 is excellent platform, therefore, bought one and installed to my MAC. I installed the platform with Window 7 ultimate. It work fine, using the virtual machine, Win 7, able to access the network and accessing WHS file. Internet is not a problem.

Now, the main problem. I installed the Dlink sharport utility to the virtual machine, Win 7, with the hope that, it can work as good as the PCs, printing through the shareport, from the router, wireless. But not the case.
    Installing was successful but it cannot work. It stated that "no usb device detected. Please plug in the hardware, external drive or printer". I check both PCs, it can connect and print.

I open the network in the virtual machine, it stated "connected to network". Comparing the setting to my PCs, I found that my PCs connected to network named, HKH (HKH is my router SSID name). Then i check my MAC, it is also connected to HKH network. But my virtual machine have no name, it just state " network 2, internet access".