No Backslash??

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by AndyBrew, Sep 8, 2008.

1. AndyBrew

AndyBrew Bit poster

Hi

I have installed parallels on my iMac and have installed Windows XP professional and everything works perfectly other than when I press the '\' key I get the hash symbol?

Currently I am copying and pasting my backslash when required.

Regards

Andy

2. John@Parallels

John@Parallels Forum Maven

Probably layout in Windows selected incorrectly.
    Please check that layout in Windows is the same as in Mac

3. AndyBrew

AndyBrew Bit poster

what do you mean by layout?

I am a complete Mac novice, sorry!

4. John@Parallels

5. AndyBrew

AndyBrew Bit poster

In XP I have English (United Kingdom) Keyboard United Kingdom

where do I compare this to on the MAC I have looked in International -> Input Menu -> British

all looks to be ok, any other ideas?

6. AndyBrew

AndyBrew Bit poster

as shown above I have found that the ` key gives me a \ but it would still be nice to have the relevant keys producing the correct characters?

7. Soloo

Soloo Member

Did you tried it with using the Enter Key on the Numpad?

Enter + < = \

Enter on the Numpad is used as AltGr in Windows Host. (is working with Swiss KB, i don't know where the \ is on the British Layout).

8. John@Parallels

Some additional tips:

The keystrokes required for typing different special symbols are listed in the table below:

1) If you have French(France) layout:

@- "Alt Gr + 0"
    # - "Alt Gr + 3"

2) If you have German(Germany) layout:
    @- "Alt Gr + q"

{- "Alt Gr + 7"
    }- "Alt Gr + 0"
    [- "Alt Gr + 8"
    ] - "Alt Gr + 9"

3) if you have Swedish (Sweden) layout:

@- "Alt Gr + 2"
    4) If you have Norwegian(Bokmal) layout:

@- "Alt Gr + 2"
    $- "Alt Gr + 4"
    {- "Alt Gr + 7"
    }- "Alt Gr + 0"
    [- "Alt Gr + 8"
    ] - "Alt Gr + 9"

5). If you have Dutch (Belgian) layout:

@- "Alt Gr + 2"

Press "CTRL + ALT " instead "Alt Gr" on MacBook and MacBook Pro