Parallels Desktop for Mac computers with Apple M2 chips

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop for M Series Mac' started by Mikhail Ushakov, Jun 8, 2022.

  1. AliH7

    AliH7

    Messages:
    1
    Hello, I hope you are doing well. I have a MacBook M1 8gb of Ram. I download the free trial to see whether it is worth it and it definitely is expect for one issue. I need Autodesk inventor for schooL. I downloaded Inventor but it runs delayed or choppy once the design gets more complicated. I assumed that it might be cause of the ram. I was wondering whether that if I bought the pro version, would that helps with the issue. I heard I can configure the pro version for CAD software which is nice. If so, is there a student discount for the pro version and just incase it doesn't help can I have a refund just in case.
     
  2. Kaden1

    Kaden1

    Messages:
    1
    Hi, I am running parallels 18 on a brand new MacBook Air 2022 M2 and I was able to download Minecraft on my M1 MacBook Air (2022) but am unable to download it on my M2. I get the error "this product is not compatible with your pc's processor" just wondering if there is anything I can do to fix that. So far its literally my ONLY problem with parallels 18.
     
  3. JasonR26

    JasonR26 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    Hi I'm running parallels 18 on an m2 MacBook Air. With the recent Xbox app update it now finally shows up as downloadable from the Microsoft store. However after I download and run it it just sits there pulsing the Xbox symbol endlessly. Any thoughts on how to make this work?
     
  4. phorim

    phorim

    Messages:
    1
  5. WeeH

    WeeH

    Messages:
    2
    I have the exact same problem. Also on the same hardware. M2 Macbook Air on Parallels 18.

    Pls help!

     
  6. BrianK12

    BrianK12 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    9
    Did you have to do anything special to get Inventor to run? I'm running Windows 11 Pro for ARM on a new M1 Max Macbook Pro. I am able to install but when I run Inventor, I just see the splash screen when it starts. Unfortunately, I don't get much further. After waiting minutes, I get the pop up to sign in and when I click to sign in, that window goes away and I never get any further. Oh, I have tried installing both with the downloaded files from the Autodesk portal and via the Autodesk Desktop app. Neither works. I also do have a license so that's not an issue. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
     
  7. FrankM29

    FrankM29 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    Hi everyone,

    I understand that some of you already run parallels on a 2022 M2 MacBook Air, as I plan to do as well: on a 8Gb / 256 machine.
    Did you have any issue so far?
    Memory wise, of course.
    Thanks
     
  8. AzinS

    AzinS Bit Poster

    Messages:
    11
    Doesn't M2 support nested virt? I have M1 and can't use WSL for this reason. Don't have option to test it on M2.
     
  9. Mikhail Ushakov

    Mikhail Ushakov Parallels Team

    Messages:
    232
    Hello!
    Parallels Desktop doesn't support nested virtualization on Mac computers with M-series chips (including M2 chips too). As for WSL support, that's correct - due to the lack of nested virtualization WSL 2 isn't supported on these Mac computers. But you can run WSL 1 that doesn't require it: https://kb.parallels.com/129234 .
     
  10. BrianK12

    BrianK12 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    9
    Just a follow up on my issue running Autodesk Inventor, I was able to find a fix. Microsoft released Visual C++ for ARM so I downloaded and installed that. Once that was installed, Inventor opened right up for me.
     
  11. Eisntein

    Eisntein

    Messages:
    1
    A critical graphical error occurred with windows
     
  12. Mikhail Ushakov

    Mikhail Ushakov Parallels Team

    Messages:
    232
    Hello @Eisntein ,
    I've found your technical report. The process of the virtual machine is crashing. We'd like to reproduce the issue locally to find a possible solution for that. Would you help us and provide a detailed scenario of what you dod to have the issue reproduced?
     
  13. ErikR4

    ErikR4 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    17
    Just got a 14" MacBook Pro M2 Max w/32 GB RAM. I copied my Windows 11 Pro VM from my M1 Mac Mini. Everything went perfect.
    I upped my CPU count to 8 and memory to 16GB for my VM and still working great. Great job guys.
    BTW, the battery/power efficiency on these machines is great! I've always had to be close to a plug when using a VM. This machine can go for hours.
     
  14. AndrewMcL

    AndrewMcL

    Messages:
    1
    I've just bought a new MacBook Pro M2 Pro and am trying to get a clean install of Parallels 18 installed.
    I download the installer (or application file) but when I run it the installer just seems to close after downloading the installation files.
    Nothing actually gets installed, and then Parallels installer icon on the desktop simply remains with those two "||" lines.
    Any idea what could be causing it, or how to actually get Parallels installed?
    Note: I'm using latest software of everything. I do have Sophos installed, but can't see why that would be causing a problem here.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  15. ErikR4

    ErikR4 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    17
    Not sure what might be going on but the download I used was...
    ParallelsDesktop-18.1.1-53328.dmg
    Double-clicking on that gives me the Parallels installer. I click install and it just worked.
    I do not have Sophos installed so I can't/wouldn't rule that out depending on the settings.
    Parallels does use extensions so maybe Sophos is the issue.
     
  16. Theoton

    Theoton Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    As soon as I open the Parallels, the computer restarts with a black screen, which is horrible and unusable. After restarting, the computer will also be disconnected from the network, and the application must be closed to recover.


    MacBook Air M2
    macOS Ventura 13.2

    upload_2023-2-14_13-54-42.png
     
  17. KyleE3

    KyleE3 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    Running Windows 11 ARM on a M2 Mac MacBook Pro
    I was wondering if anyone has gotten this program to work? https://plutonium.pw/
    It's a mod for the older call of duty games. All the call of duty games this mod supports open and run fine outside of the mod on Windows 11 ARM. When you try their .exe listed on the website the command window is there for like 2-3 sec then goes away. Any ideas?
     
  18. Mikhail Ushakov

    Mikhail Ushakov Parallels Team

    Messages:
    232
    Hello,
    Please click the Parallels Desktop icon on the top Mac menubar and select 'Check for updates'. Once Parallels Desktop 18.2.0 is installed, check if the issue still remains.
    If it does, kindly collect a fresh technical report right after the reproduction of the issue and send me its 9-digit ID. Instructions are available at https://kb.parallels.com/9058 .
     
  19. AaronL15

    AaronL15 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Anyone able to get the context menu working on the virtual machine under Control Center as in https://kb.parallels.com/125344?
    I just moved from my 2017 Intel MacBook Pro to the new M2 Max MacBook Pro. I just want to see the context in my old virtual hard drive.
     
  20. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    808
    The old VM needs to be copied to the M2 Mac first. Then the context menu should have the option for the HDD content.
     

Share This Page