Parallels Mounter won't mount VM

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration' started by DerryckC, Jan 5, 2011.

  1. DerryckC

    DerryckC

    Messages:
    20
    "Either the hard disk has no volumes or its file system is not supported or contains errors. Start your virtual machine and check the disk for file system errors."

    That's the text of the error message that opens when I attempt to mount any of the VMs I have - Ubuntu, Windows XP or 7. The XP install is a fresh one, which did seem to open at first, but subsequently now doesn't, can't comment on the others. There's nothing wrong with the file system or anything else that I know of.

    What next, please?

    Parallels 6.0.11992, Mac Pro, 6-Core Intel Xeon 3.33 GHz, 6 cores, 6G memory, ATI HD 5870 video card.
     
  2. txrpls

    txrpls

    Messages:
    22
    Ditto with the same issue. 11992. I think this only happened after OS 10.6.6 upgrade.
     
  3. GlennFx

    GlennFx

    Messages:
    2
    Ditto with me. After the Parallels and 10.6.6 upgrade, file sharing is pretty broken. Files still show up under \\psf on windows, though.
     
  4. DerryckC

    DerryckC

    Messages:
    20
    10.6.6 seems to be the common denominator here then, I forgot to add that detail to my list.

    Anyone from Parallels Support listening?
     
  5. Looser

    Looser Bit Poster

    Messages:
    3
    Same with me!!

    How many are we now?
     
  6. viasoft

    viasoft

    Messages:
    4
    It's impossible to mount my VM's
    Why is Parallels not answering this question?

    Djordie
     
  7. Stuw

    Stuw Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    297
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011
  8. txrpls

    txrpls

    Messages:
    22
    No there is not a problem with MacFuse, there is a problem with Parallels 6.0.11992. Everything worked perfectly fine until your latest release of Parallels. There are numerous other threads on this forum about other problems with Parallels current release. I did not buy a high powered machine to run it crippled.
     
  9. txrpls

    txrpls

    Messages:
    22
    this was in an email I just received:
    Here is the message that has just been posted:
    ***************
    In Parallels Desktop 6 Update 1 we revert MacFuse from newer version to 2.0.3 (because we found some problems with new version of MacFuse).
    ***************

    I reverted to MacFuse 2.0.3 and Parallels 6.0.11992 still does not work. I don't beleive this is a MacFuse issue.
     
  10. Stuw

    Stuw Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    297
    MacFuse 2.0.3 doesn't work in 64-bit mode.


    Problem on another forum:
    MacFUSE kext fails to load on Snow Leopard in 64-bit mode - http://www.mail-archive.com/macfuse@googlegroups.com/msg00887.html


    from http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/23729/macfuse
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011
  11. Stuw

    Stuw Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    297
    When error from mounter appears type in terminal:
    % sudo dmesg | tail

    You will se the following messages:
    Failed to load executable for kext com.google.filesystems.fusefs.
    Kext com.google.filesystems.fusefs failed to load (0xdc008016).
    Failed to load kext com.google.filesystems.fusefs (error 0xdc008016).
    kxld[com.google.filesystems.fusefs]: The following symbols are unresolved for this kext:
    kxld[com.google.filesystems.fusefs]: _OSRuntimeFinalizeCPP
    kxld[com.google.filesystems.fusefs]: _OSRuntimeInitializeCPP
    Can't load kext com.google.filesystems.fusefs - link failed.
    Failed to load executable for kext com.google.filesystems.fusefs.
    Kext com.google.filesystems.fusefs failed to load (0xdc008016).
    Failed to load kext com.google.filesystems.fusefs (error 0xdc008016).
     
  12. txrpls

    txrpls

    Messages:
    22
    @ STU

    I installed 2.1.7 and it mounts the drive. I was running 2.1.5 prior to the 6.0.11992 upgrade and it was working fine under 64 bit. I still think you have issues with the current release, but the experimental version of MacFuse seems to be working fine for me. Thanks for the link. I have been wanting to find out why I get a C and D drive mounted with Parallels Mounter and only a C on the desktop when the VM is loaded.
     
  13. Stuw

    Stuw Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    297
    I suppose that Parallels Mounter mounts hidden boot partition (this partition usually presents in windows vista/7).
     
  14. txrpls

    txrpls

    Messages:
    22
    Same Issue w/new update.

    Just updated to 12090 and still have the same MacFUSE issue when trying to use mounter. Don't you guys think it is time to fix this problem and either update MacFuse or mac an equivalent?
     
  15. kelvSYC

    kelvSYC

    Messages:
    6
    From what I've heard, MacFUSE is officially a dead project, and that Fuse4X (http://fuse4x.org) is its spiritual successor. Whether Parallels will use Fuse4X instead of MacFUSE in the future...
     
  16. txrpls

    txrpls

    Messages:
    22
    I don't care what they use as long as it works. I should have to mess with and running my machine in 64 bit is not an option!
     

Share This Page