Parallels will not launch without internet connxn

Discussion in 'Parallels Website and Forum' started by Gertrude, Feb 21, 2008.

1. Gertrude

Gertrude Bit poster

Hi.
    I'm a new MacBook Pro user and Parallels was recommended to me by a colleague, so I got it. I'm not great with computers and really am not interested in becoming great with operating systems. I use computers to do my work, though, so I need them.

I have to be able to launch Parallels anywhere, any time, because in my work I run meetings with MS XP-compatible applications with my computer at remote locations.

I can launch Parallels fine at home, where I can connect to the internet. I can get into Windows in my hotel room, where I can connect to the internet.

BUT--when I go to the worksite, where there is no wireless internet connection, Parallels will not launch. This will cost me about 20 hours of overtime--just for this week's work. Not a good way to live.

Can someone tell me if there is a way to get Parallels to launch without requiring an internet connection to be active? It seems very silly to me to have internet connection a mandatory requirement to get into my VM when the whole reason I got a Mac was to avoid all the virus problems that you get with MS systems. I don't want to connect to the internet from my VM--ever.

Thanks,
    Gertrude

2. Xenos

Xenos Parallels Team

Hello Gertrude,

Generally you can launch Parallels without network connection. You will get a notification: "Problem with network adapter is detected/ Please check if network cable is connected...". However this does not mean you can not start Windows. Just click OK and go on.

If you still can not launch the Guest OS, the problem is somewhere else. Do you get any other messages? What can you see when trying to start Windows? What build are you using, what are your Host and Guest OS?

Best regards,
    Xenos

3. Gertrude

Gertrude Bit poster

Hi, Xenos