PD14 - Client Snapshot does not finish

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by diwa, Nov 12, 2018.

  1. diwa

    diwa Bit Poster

    Messages:
    43
    Hi,

    I do have a PD14 installation running at OS X 10.13.
    A Win7 VM was performing a snapshot - but it seems PD hung during (or after?) the process.

    parallels.log says (last rows):

    11-12 09:33:30.312 F /vm:1232:29955/ [SARE] Waiting for disk...
    11-12 09:33:35.349 F /LocalDevices:1232:12583/ sync_request on dev(11:0) was not acked in time, continue wait...
    11-12 09:34:30.074 F /TransMem:1232:65555/ Finished processing blocks (4096 / 4096 processed)
    11-12 09:34:30.074 F /vm:1232:65555/ Copying swap pages... done
    11-12 09:34:30.082 F /TransMem:1232:68615/ Failed to get next block: all done
    11-12 09:34:30.082 F /Compression:1232:68615/ CCompressionEngine::compress() completed res=1
    11-12 09:34:30.083 F /TransMem:1232:68615/ CSnapshotEngineCompressed::run() done


    And on screen I got the message "95%" for the last hour...

    Anything, I can do?
    Today's snapshot does not show up at "snapshots.xml" yet...

    Thanks

    Dirk
     
  2. PaulChris@Parallels

    PaulChris@Parallels Product Expert Parallels Support

    Messages:
    3,140
    @dirk, If you are keeping for taking a snapshot for longtime make sure that you have sufficient space available on your Mac. Once you discard the snapshot it will commit all the data from newly created .hds to original .hds. Also, could you check the size of the .pvm bundle?
     
  3. diwa

    diwa Bit Poster

    Messages:
    43
    There should be enough space on disk for the .hdd files.
    One has about 150GB, the other 20GB - and there are 2TB of empty space on disk...
    The Bundle has 172GB.

    Ther should be only one snapshot on this VM - and the system tries to create the second one now...

    Ciao

    dirk
     
  4. diwa

    diwa Bit Poster

    Messages:
    43
    After rebooting the Mac, I was able to start this VM - but today, I've got the same problem again. This time it stucks at 92%...

    Ciao

    dirk
     
  5. Sathiya@Parallels

    Sathiya@Parallels Staff Member

    Messages:
    579
    If there any antivirus/firewall protection enabled on the Mac, please disable it while taking a Snapshot. Also, if there is any Time Machine backup running, please stop the backup process while the Snapshot is being created.
     
  6. diwa

    diwa Bit Poster

    Messages:
    43
    There is NO AV-software running on the Mac...
    And TimeMachine is also not running yet.

    BUT since it is not predictable, WHEN a snapshot would be taken, it seems unpractical to disable TM...

    ciao

    dirk
     
  7. diwa

    diwa Bit Poster

    Messages:
    43
    The problem still exists.
    It doesn't matter, if I activate the snapshoot manually or, if it's done automaticly...

    I can access the VM after this only, if I restart my Mac...
     
  8. Arun@Parallels

    Arun@Parallels Parallels Support

    Messages:
    1,293
    Hi @diwa , please let us know the version of Parallels Desktop you are using.
     
  9. diwa

    diwa Bit Poster

    Messages:
    43
    Version 14.0.1 (45154)
     
  10. diwa

    diwa Bit Poster

    Messages:
    43
    Today, I switched to 14.1.0 (45387) - but the problem remains...
     
  11. diwa

    diwa Bit Poster

    Messages:
    43
    Is there a way, to delete ALL the snapshot-informations from a VM?
    I do found, that a different VM, which is used only a few times a year, has no problems with its snapshots.
    But this happens with the VM, I'm using the most...
     
  12. diwa

    diwa Bit Poster

    Messages:
    43
    Am I the only one, having these problems?
    Strange...

    dirk
     

Share This Page