Sharing Files on Linux not working

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop on a Mac with Apple silicon' started by PhilippH4, Nov 14, 2022.

1. PhilippH4

PhilippH4 Bit poster

I already wrote the support team, but I hope to get a faster answer here:

I bought Parallels Desktop 2 months ago, to run Win11 and some Linux distributions on my Macbook Air M1.
    I worked mainly in Win 11 and everything so far works as expected. I turned on the option, to have my files of MacOS shared on Win11 and vice versa.
    Now I need the same on my Linux Ubuntu/Fedora VM. I went into settings and enabled all "Sharing" options. I tried everything, like Mirrow Mac and Linux user folders, share custom Mac folders (all ticked) but nothing seems to work!
    I am not sure what else can I try. I have to admit I am pretty new to Linux and a noob, but in the Win 11 everything worked from the beginning.
    I would need a fast fix, so that I can access on my native MacOS the files I create in the VM Linux distributions and vv., which means I also want to have access on files which are stored on my native MacOS and edit them on my VM Linux. I just cannot see any files other than the default Linux files on my Linux (and the few I created on Linux myself). (Maybe I am checking the wrong folders or I have to activate something in the terminal??)

2. PhilippH4

PhilippH4 Bit poster

No one?

3. KenD10

KenD10 Bit poster

I had the same issue, and I found a solution. Sorry for long delay, but, well, I am new here.

I just last week made a big switch. I had been running a 100% Ubuntu 22.04 laptop (System76 hardware). Now I've switched to an Ubuntu 22.04 VM (via Parallels Desktop for Mac 18) running on a new MB Air M2 2022. (Reason for switch: No fan noise!). I just now, after some research (which led me to your msg), figured out how I can read and write to the macOS filesystem from the VM. I am thrilled about this!