Solaris - How do I get files in there?

Discussion in 'Other Virtual machines' started by cloudyapple, Jul 1, 2007.

1. cloudyapple

cloudyapple Bit poster

Now that I have successfully installed Solaris, how do I transfer files from OSX to S10 when Shared Folders are not available?

I tried Parallel Explorer. It opened my XP VHDD fine but it couldn't open the S10 VHDD.

Any clues?

Jesse

2. dkp

dkp Forum Maven

FTP, scp, sftp, email attachments, wget, http, NFS, sshfs with MacFUSE.

3. cloudyapple

cloudyapple Bit poster

Sorry there I'm a newbie.

I managed to get on the internet from within Solaris following some online help setting up the networking.

What I don't know is what IP address to connect to to ftp stuff across the OS'es.

I tried ifconfig -a. In Solaris it comes up with
    lo0:inet 127.0.0.1 netmask ff000000
    and
    ni0:inet 192.168.0.2 netmask ffffff00 broadcast 192.168.0.255

I tried all of them with cyberduck and no luck.

The other way round doing ifconfig in the OSX Terminal yields a whole bunch of stuff. None of which can be connected to from Solaris.

Now I am stuck.

I'd be grateful if you can provide a little more details on what I should be doing.

Last edited: Jul 1, 2007
  4. dkp

dkp Forum Maven

Start Solaris and log in. Open a terminal session.

In OS X open a terminal session. In the OS X terminal, ping the IP you provided:
    ping 192.168.0.2

If it returns "Alive" you're in good shape.

If that works we can continue - if not there may be a plan B.

5. cloudyapple

cloudyapple Bit poster

Yes it returned alive.

6. dkp

dkp Forum Maven

That being the case then any of the Solaris services that are enabled should be accessible. Test ssh by opening a terminal window in OS X and type:

ssh 192.168.0.2

If ssh is running on the Solaris system a connection should be established at this point. You an also try:

ftp 192.168.0.2

and telnet 192.168.0.2