Solidworks 2022

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by josiah2, Feb 8, 2022.

Tags:
  1. josiah2

josiah2 Bit poster

Hi Y'all,

I'm new to parallels (migrating from VMware) and SolidWorks is running slow as a dog. I let parallels do the default windows 10/11 installation and set it to "Configure for Design" allocated 16 gigs of ram and 8 processors for the VM. I know I haven't allocated too much because everything outside the VM is plenty peppy, and I'd assume these values should work because they are what I used for my VMware setup.
    My system specs: 2.4 Ghz 8-core i9, 32 GB 2400 MHz DDR4, Radeon Pro 560X 4GB

Anyways, I'm fairly certain this is a graphics card related issue. I noticed this exists (https://kb.parallels.com/en/122790) but it doesn't appear to have a reg file for SW 2022. I tried the 2021 version in the off chance it would still work and I still wasn't able to uncheck the 'enable software openGL', so I'm fairly confident that using the 2021 registry values for 2022 isn't going to cut it.

Is there a timeline on when these files are going to be released? Does anyone have any alternative suggestions?

Thanks!

2. PrometheusT

PrometheusT Bit poster

3. MatthewH18

MatthewH18 Junior Member

Also wanting to run SW 2022 SP2 on my M1. Any help appreciated

4. MatthewH18

MatthewH18 Junior Member

I just got this working. running M1 Pro, loaded, windows 11 arm, parallels 17.1 Regular install of Solidworks 2022 SP2 works with some caveats.

Turn off file sharing with the mac, otherwise you won't be ale to save files from Solidworks (with sharing on, the pathname starts with \\mac\..." rather than"C:\...") Solidworks refuses to save unless it sees a full path back to the physical device. Open "windows 11" configuration screen from Parallels. Select "options", "sharing", "configure". Uncheck the 6 folders.