To use your Windows files directly in Mac you should reinstall Parallels Desktop.

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by imborn2x, Nov 4, 2007.

1. imborn2x

imborn2x Bit poster

I have been using Parallels for the past 4 months.
    I has worked well.

I just upgraded to Leopard.
    Then I upgraded to the Parallels Beta to run with Leopard.

I use MS Outlook Webmail for work.
    I have to open documents from attachments in emails.

BEFORE, I would open an attachment, and it would go to mac and open with a mac program (like word for mac).

NOW... I get this message:
    To use your Windows files directly in Mac you should reinstall Parallels Desktop.

And nothing will open.

PLEASE HELP... I use my email for work and need to open the attachments all the time.

I have tried to reinstall Parallels 5 times yet nothing changes.

Thanks for your help in advance!

2. alexg

alexg Parallels Developers

Hi,

Parallels Desktop uses MacFUSE for Windows sharing. The version of MacFUSE what comes with Parallels Desktop is not compatible with Leopard. You can fix it by installing the latest version of MacFUSE for Leopard. You can get it at http://code.google.com/p/macfuse/downloads/list

Also, please check the Finder option "Preferences -> General -> Connected servers". It should be checked (it is unchecked by default).

Alexander

3. HZC

HZC Member

I checked "Preferences -> General -> Connected servers" in the Finder Preferences, then I installed MacFUSE-Core-10.5-1.0.0.dmg and rebooted. Then Parallels wouldn't start up, stating that I had to re-install it, so I did that and then Parallels started up fine and so did Windows. However, I still get the error message "To use your Windows files directly in Mac you should reinstall Parallels Desktop."

(-) Double-clicking on any file on the Windows side that uses a Mac application to open doesn't seem to work (produces the same error).