Transporter fails attempting connection

Discussion in 'Parallels Transporter' started by rsusit8r, Jun 15, 2007.

1. rsusit8r

rsusit8r Bit poster

I'm a Parallels newbie trying to migrate my WinXP SP2 machine via Transporter. I have Transporter Agent running on my Windows machine. Transporter is running on my Mac. I'm connecting via wireless LAN. Norton Protection is turned off on Windows. The wizard recognizes my source Windows machine.

When I click the "Continue" button, a dialog pops up on my Mac asking me to "Wait while transporter collects information about the source computer." My Windows machine dialog changes transiently from "Ready..." to "Connected..." and quickly back to "Ready..." as the following error appears on my Mac: "An error occurred while Parallels Transporter was collecting the information about source computer. Make sure Parallels Transporter Agent runs on source computer and not involved in other migration process."

Unless my Windows machine is planning a trip up north with some local geese-- which it might if it knew its post-migration fate :) -- I'm pretty sure it's not involved in another migration as it's been freshly restarted.

Any ideas, o Transporter guruim?

Thanks,

Carl

2. Helen@Parallels

Helen@Parallels Parallels Developers

Hello, Rsusit8r,

The problem which is described above may occur in case of incorrect setup of Parallels Transporter Agent driver.

Please, could you check in additional that the driver was installed correctly:
    on last step of installing before you start migration process you should reboot your computer, after that the snapman.sys driver should be located on C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\ and also can you check in Start menu\Control panel\Administrative Tools\Computer Management\<your computer>\Disk drives\STXXXXXXXX\Properties\Details Class Upper Filters property contains snapman in list of filters?