Using Windows with Parallels

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by KenoliO, Apr 13, 2023.

1. KenoliO

KenoliO Bit poster

I am pretty much in the Mac World and very ignorant about Windows. But...I am also an amateur radio operator and there is some amateur radio software that only runs on Windows. I am trying to figure out if it is more expensive to use Parallels on my mac or simply buy a cheap Windows machine.

I can see that it is not expensive to buy a copy of Windows to install on Parallels. But...it appears it is not possible to do everything with it without paying more than the cost of Parallels to get a Windows license.

However, it has been hard to find out what I can do with it without a license. Can I run software like these amateur radio software. Can I get access to the USB and other ports for connecting to amateur radio equipment?

What is the deal? What are the limitations without the Microsoft Windows license?

I can buy an inexpensive Windows machine for a couple of hundred dollars. That is less than Parallels plus a Microsoft license. I"m not going to be using Windows for anything else other than Amateur radio software.

Would appreciate any help I can get on this matter.

I wish I could use an M based Mac, but we are also graphic designers and need a 27 inch screen so we have a souped up but intel based 27 inch imac. Buying the M based mac we would need plus monitor is out of our price range.

Will the intel processor be an issue?

--Kenoli

2. Pramesh Boodadoo

Pramesh Boodadoo Staff Member

Hello,
    As amateur radio operators who need to run Windows-only software, we suggest downloading and testing the free 14-day trial of Parallels Desktop 18 for Mac.
    This trial can be accessed via the following link: https://www.parallels.com/products/desktop/trial/