Windows 11 on Arm

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop for Apple Silicon (M1) Mac' started by kundanno, Jun 23, 2021.

  1. PK3GLY

    PK3GLY Bit Poster

    Messages:
    4
    Regarding the Insider Edition updates and the release version: if I want to have a release version installed, does that exist for M1 computers? If not yet, when a release version become available and is compatible with M1, would I have to uninstall the insider and install the release version (since you stated that the Insider would never update to release)?
     
  2. Mike Boreham

    Mike Boreham Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    286
    You can install the release version Windows 11 ARM on M1 Mac VMs. You have to get it from uupdump.net
     
  3. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    756
    It does exist and you need to create a new VM. https://forum.parallels.com/threads/how-to-install-windows-11-retail-version.355463/
     
  4. PK3GLY

    PK3GLY Bit Poster

    Messages:
    4
    And can this version be activated with a Win 10 Pro product key?
     
  5. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    756
    Yes.
     
    MikeS39 likes this.
  6. Federico10

    Federico10 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    11
    Hi.
    MacBook Pro 16" with M1Pro.
    I follow the instruction in this post but the one with the Mac instruction but doesn't work so I came back to the windows solution - I have parallels with the insider preview installed and I built the windows 11 home ARM64 iso. I have a couple of question that I don't understand:
    1) This ISO is the "final" version of the stable release and it will be updated from now on?
    2) Which license I have to buy in order to activate the product (retail, VL, CD key etc etc)
    3) Can I buy the windows 10 home serial in order to activate, so I can save money?
    4) In this way I can forget about the installed version under parallels and I can use the damn 2 software that doesn't exits on Mac?
    5) Is there something that I forget please tell me.
    6) where can I get the license at low price , for the Italian version?

    Thanks
     
  7. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    756
    1) If you built any Windows build from 22000.194 to 22000.318, you have a final release version with 22000.318 being the latest update. If you go to your Insider settings after installing that build, you should see that you are not in the Insider Program. You will continue to get updates to the retail/OEM version.
    2) Possibly none. If you already have a retail license for Windows Home 10 or 11 for a previous Intel installation that is linked to your Microsoft account, you can just use that for the ARM installation too if you no longer need your Intel Windows to run.
    3) Yes, you said you built the Windows Home iso, so you can use a Home key.
    4) For the most part, yes. Keep in mind that Windows has to emulate the x86/x64 software to make it run on ARM. If software doesn't run, you might have to try the compatibility settings. In my personal experience all x86 software did eventually work and most of it without any changes to the settings, but you might have software that won't run. Also keep in mind that Windows can only emulate apps and not drivers. If you need a driver it has to be for ARM.
    6) The problem with licenses at low price is that those might not work. You can get a retail license a little cheaper on Amazon and maybe other places than directly from Microsoft, but it will still be expensive. If you see licenses for a significantly lower price it's almost guaranteed that they are either OEM licenses (they can only be used once and not be transferred to another computer or another VM) or Volume licenses that may or may not actually work.
     
  8. Federico10

    Federico10 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    11
    1) 22000.220. So ok.
    2) I have only a windows 7 home serial. I'll try but I doubt that work.
    3) ok
    4) ok
    6) I found a website that sell OEM license, Retail CDKey license or standard license. Which one? Very low price but for windows 10 home serial.
     
  9. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    756
    2) Worth a try. At least for Windows 10 there were some posts that a Win 7 or 8 license works.
    6) I would choose a retail license. Those can be used again, but they are more expensive. I have never heard the term standard license before. You can find more information (including how to check the type of license) here.
     
  10. nsayer

    nsayer Bit Poster

    Messages:
    39
    Personally, I would be shocked if Parallels weren't at least trying to negotiate the right to be an ARM Windows "OEM" so they could sell licenses for Parallels users.
    I can't imagine why Microsoft would not want that business unless they were being pressured one way or another by their other OEM customers to exclude Parallels and by extension Apple's customer base. Such pressure would almost certainly be a violation of anti-competitive behavior laws, but it's not like Microsoft has never been accused of that sort of thing before.
     
    Mike Boreham likes this.
  11. Federico10

    Federico10 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    11
    Everything's works.
    The Windows 7 home license from an old laptop works like a charm.

    When I reinstalled Monterey and again parallels and windows it doesn't activate. But I manage to with "I have new hardware" option.

    Perfect.

    Now I have problems with the software I use under windows. I move to another section of the form. Thanks very much for your help.
     
  12. DanP9

    DanP9 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    just installed the release version of Win 11 ARM on Parallels. Seems to be WAY slower than the insider preview version that shows a much later build version as well. x64 apps are running much faster in the insider preview version for some reason. IMHO - stick with the insider preview if you are running legacy x86/64 apps.
     
  13. WZ_1

    WZ_1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    19
    I just installed windows 11 arm64 22000.282 but found its x86/x64 emulation performance kind of lacking. May I know what is your insider preview version number?
     
  14. RomanC5

    RomanC5 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    I'm not able to get Adobe Reader to work after install on Win 11 - it just freezes everytime.
     
  15. KC21

    KC21

    Messages:
    1
    Hi Everyone,
    Recently got a Macbook Air M1 and would really need a way to use the Netflix app from Windows 11 for offline downloads and playback.
    Is this currently possible with Parallels 17 and Windows 11 ARM?
    Really need a confirmation of this before paying for the subscription.
    Thank you!
     
  16. RolandoN1

    RolandoN1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    4
    I just installed Netflix to see how it works. It's buggy at best. It crashed a couple of times, I got a 'whoop something went wrong' message and the main screen is filtered in red for some reason. Can you use the web version of Netflix? But maybe the web version doesn't allow for offline download? Maybe save your movies to USB to watch later.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. MikeH27

    MikeH27 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    5
    Netflix installs, but the VM doesn't appear to support whatever garbage DRM Netflix is trying to use for playback.
     
  18. RalphB6

    RalphB6 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    3
    Yes, it does work on my M1 MBP with Win11.
     
  19. Nikita11

    Nikita11 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Hello everyone! Does anyone have experience installing drivers for guardant electronic security keys? I have an error 0xE0000235 when installing on Windows 11 Arm on M1. Has anyone encountered it? is there a solution?
     
  20. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    756
    Intel drivers don't work. You need a driver for ARM.
     

Share This Page