winlogon.exe - Bad Image - Can't Access XP!!!

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by Deb Colgan, Jul 17, 2008.

1. Deb Colgan

Deb Colgan Junior Member

Hello,

Configuration:

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz | Leopard 10.5.2
    4 GB Ram | 256 MB Video Ram
    Parallels 3.0 Build 5608 | Windows XP Home

I will try to remember best I can what happened here. I need what seems to be major help and I need it asap as I cannot access ANY of my client's files so I'm pretty desperate for some help. I am new to Mac & Parallels as of about 3 months ago so I really am floundering here.

Hubby had been playing the Chess game that came w/the iMac. When he was done, he left it open (grrrr!) for probably 6-8 hours. When I came to use the computer, the iMac was locked up tight. I had no mouse, no control over anything. I could not reboot/shutdown/force quit - nothing. So, I turned it off using the button on the back of the iMac and when it came back up, all seemed ok. (Yes, I know that's not a good thing to do but I did not seem to have any other choice that I knew of.)

I opened Parallels and found my ZoneAlarm threw me a msg that the Vector thing (forgot the second word) had shut down, did I want to restart? Clicked YES over and over and over again, same window kept popping up and ZoneAlarm would not restart. I tried to reboot Parallels/XP about 4x and it refused to reboot. I tried shutting it down, refused to shut down. I finally did a Force Quit and rebooted my iMac.

When I tried to open Parallels, XP went into a Disk Check, I saw that it deleted a number of things from a corrupted something or other, then recovered a bunch of files and then finished. No I don't know what these all are, it flies by so fast there's no way to write them all down. Now when I try to open my Parallels/XP I get two error msgs, the message is the same but it's two different files involved:

"winlogon.exe - Bad Image