Help needed to restore Parallels following HDD failure and replace with new SSD?

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration of Parallels Desktop' started by MIKEP17, Sep 13, 2019.

1. MIKEP17

MIKEP17 Bit poster

Hello,
    Apologies in advance for what may/will be a lengthy post. I am new to MAC based computers and have no user experience of Parallels, but I am an embedded software/electronics engineer and competent Windows user. Ok then, here is the history. Our MacBook Pro failed with a hard drive issue on its main 'Macintosh HD' disk. No use of disk utility in recovery mode could repair it. We bought DiskWarrior 5.2, and using the DW USB Flash drive, I was able to save a huge amount of user documents, photos etc., to a 500GB portable drive. Several iterations later, the MacBook is now running nicely with a new Crucial SSD and Yosemite 10.10.5. All docs and photos etc., restored to the new drive. A very important aspect for this MacBook is the Parallels application, which was resident before the HDD failure. I drilled through the user documents and found the last downloaded package and installed Parallels from that. A saved activation code was accepted. If my memory serves me right, it asked for a virtual disk to use and I located a .pvm file and an associated .hdd too. All going well until I tried to launch Parallels and I get errors - we will provide exact details upon reply to this post. My thinking is that the (new SSD) disk ID is at odds with the old ID and that I cannot re-use salvaged .pvm, .hdd and .xml (descriptor) files. I really do not want to start afresh and have to manually install Windows XP applications and settings. Unfortunately, Mike is not so hot on using time machine and backups and we had no way of creating a Mac disk image to restore back. So, in short, is there a way of editing some settings such that I can restore back what was working in the Parallels environment, before we had the HDD failure - bearing in mind we now have a new SSD?