Setting Up for WinXP

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by jaysch, Aug 21, 2007.

1. jaysch

jaysch Bit poster

I'm a newbie to Parallels so please excuse my ignorance. I've used VM Ware on a PC so I'm familiar with virtualization technology.

I have a new MacBook Pro with 4gigs of memory and the 160, 7200 rpm internal drive along with 1.5 tb of external eSATA storage. I'd like to know the typical setup and install scenario for a XP Pro.

Specifically what are the general steps and in what order? I assume it's something like:

1. Install Parallels
    2. Create a Windows partition & format - NTFS?
    3. Install WinXP (via Parallels)

I do mostly .Net web design and development using DreamWeaver, VisualStudio 2005, CS3, etc. but will also do post production using FinalCut Pro 6. So, I'm moving more toward the Mac side of things but I’m a little concerned about having sufficient resources to run, let's say Visual Studio on the PC side and CCS on the Mac at the same time. I'm OK with using Boot Camp but people keep telling me I should just run Paralles. I assume I can use either Boot Camp or Paralles if I choose?

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!

2. Stan O

Stan O Parallels Team

Hello!
    The process of installing Windows in Parallels Desktop is even simpler than that!
    1. Download and install the latest build.
    2. Run Parallels Desktop and activate (either trial or a full key)
    3. When you do, the New VM Assistant will pop up and will totally guide you through the installation process (in case you use the Express installation for Windows, you'd only have to enter the Windows activation key and insert the installation CD - Parallels Desktop will perform all the installation routines itself).
    You can evaluate Parallels Desktop for 2 weeks and see if the developing environment of your choice functions as you want it to in Parallels.