Clueless Newbie: How to reinstall windows 7 and parallels 6

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by TheresaS, Dec 14, 2011.

1. TheresaS

TheresaS Bit poster

Hello,
    I have searched and cannot find help for this elsewhere. I am new to all of this and really don't understand a lot about the entire virtual machine (would rather not have to, but will do what I need to, I guess). New to Mac also, so everything is feeling foreign.

I have OS X running Windows 7 with Parallels 6. I have some major corruption of all of windows with links leading to the wrong places, all applications have been moved, etc--likely from a virus.
    I have tried reinstalling various programs but it is a broader problem and I want to uninstall/reinstall Windows 7.
    Can anyone help me with how to go about this? Do I need to uninstall parallels also. Will that involve repartitioning the drive, etc? This is a case of not knowing what I don't know. Usually I am pretty fearless, but I am in a time crunch to get this done and the whole system working in harmony!

Thank you very much and I apologize if this is a lame question and/or answered elsewhere.
    Theresa

2. YanaYana

YanaYana

Hello Theresa,

You need to create new virtual machine and install Windows 7 from the scratch. In fact you can have more than one virtual machine at a time and even run them simultaneously (but it can be rather slow).
    So please follow this article to create new virtual machine http://kb.parallels.com/en/4729 - you will be able to copy all valuable data from the old machine after that, just make sure you have good antivirus installed in anew one.
    There is no need to reinstall PD, just create new virtual machine.

3. Specimen

Specimen Product Expert

4. TheresaS

TheresaS Bit poster

Thank you so much for your prompt response. Just to be clear, do I need to somehow delete the existing virtual machine if I create a new one? As I do not want to have more than 1 at a time.

5. YanaYana

YanaYana