Crippling PD12 bugs, please DO NOT BUY PD12

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by TylerL1, Aug 19, 2016.

?

Have you had issues with Parallels Desktop 12?

1. Yes

2. No

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. TylerL1

TylerL1 Bit poster

MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)
    macOS Sierra, 10.12 Beta
    2.8 GHz Intel Core i7
    Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB

Hello,
    I purchased Parallels Desktop 12 yesterday as an upgrade to my previous PD10. I most often use parallels for gaming purposes, though I also use it for school with programs like MS Visual Studio and Autodesk applications. I've been using the macOS Sierra Beta version for a couple months now and PD10 had been working on it flawlessly, but when an update comes out you just have to have "the latest and greatest" version, right? Most of the touted improvements to PD in version 12 are under-the-hood improvements, unfortunately it seems like some bugs have accompanied these improvements. My two main issues with the way PD12 performs are as follows:

In PD10, I could open applications and play games while in Coherence and they would open up to be fullscreen. With PD12, my game doesn't automatically open to fullscreen anymore. In fact, I can't even make it fullscreen because there aren't buttons at the top of the window and the View -> Enter Fullscreen button is grayed-out. This issue is mostly resolved by exiting Coherence and entering the fullscreen view manually. I suppose that works, but comparing this performance of the new version to the 'archaic' PD10 is like taking a step back. I suppose this problem came about because of the attempted improvements to Coherence itself, and can't imagine it being a difficult fix. I love Coherence and when I use other Windows applications like Visual Studio or AutoCad it's so nice to have a Windows application float seamlessly over my Mac Desktop. I mainly love feeling like I'm not using Windows while I'm using its applications.