I have two separate MacBook Pro's, both just upgraded to Parallels Desktop 7 from Parallels Desktop 6 and each has a Win7 VM installed completely separate from the other (meaning, I didn't just copy the PVM from one laptop to the other).
On Machine A, I had previously checked the box for "Do not back up virtual machine" under Configure -> Options -> Backup and also had the SmartGuard option set to "Optimize for Time Machine". I tried to uncheck the "Do not back up virtual machine" box but it keeps reverting back to a checked state. Even if I turn off SmartGuard, it keeps defaulting back to a checked state.
So, I went to Machine B, confirmed that the Win7 VM did not have this box checked. I also loaded up the respective "config.pvs" file and noted that the one from Machine A had AppVersion = 7.0.14920.689535 and the other had an AppVersion from 6.0.xxxxx. This machine had SmartGuard disabled initially, so I changed this setting to "Optimize for Time Machine" and immediately the checkbox for "Do not back up virtual machine" got checked. I tried to disable it but it won't. I turned SmartGuard off again but it still won't let me disable the "Do not back up virtual machine" option.
Even though my repro steps include SmartGuard, I don't believe this is necessarily related. I think it might have to do with the PVS file being updated from version 6 to version 7. I don't see a setting in the PVS file that seems to map to this setting, so I'm not sure where this setting is actually stored so I haven't tried manually editing the settings to change the value.
Any ideas how to fix this or workaround it?
On Machine A, I had previously checked the box for "Do not back up virtual machine" under Configure -> Options -> Backup and also had the SmartGuard option set to "Optimize for Time Machine". I tried to uncheck the "Do not back up virtual machine" box but it keeps reverting back to a checked state. Even if I turn off SmartGuard, it keeps defaulting back to a checked state.
So, I went to Machine B, confirmed that the Win7 VM did not have this box checked. I also loaded up the respective "config.pvs" file and noted that the one from Machine A had AppVersion = 7.0.14920.689535 and the other had an AppVersion from 6.0.xxxxx. This machine had SmartGuard disabled initially, so I changed this setting to "Optimize for Time Machine" and immediately the checkbox for "Do not back up virtual machine" got checked. I tried to disable it but it won't. I turned SmartGuard off again but it still won't let me disable the "Do not back up virtual machine" option.
Even though my repro steps include SmartGuard, I don't believe this is necessarily related. I think it might have to do with the PVS file being updated from version 6 to version 7. I don't see a setting in the PVS file that seems to map to this setting, so I'm not sure where this setting is actually stored so I haven't tried manually editing the settings to change the value.
Any ideas how to fix this or workaround it?