"Do not back up with time machine" setting problem

Steelbom

Member
Every time, I check the "Do not back up with time machine" setting (General tab of the VM's settings), as soon as I quit and start Parallels 4.0 again, it is unchecked... I do not want my VM being backed up.

I simply check that "Check Box" and click OK, then I quit Parallels.

Is this a bug, or am I doing something wrong?

Kind Regards
Me
 
Is the virtual machine running/suspended/stopped at that moment?

In any case I would suggest to completely shut down the virtual machine before applying configuration changes.
 
Hi, no the VM was completely shut down, not suspended, stopped, paused, nor running.

I tried it this morning again, I start my computer, click the Parallels 4.0 icon in the Dock, it opens my Windows XP window automatically (but it doesn't turn it on automatically), I click Configure -> General tab, I check the "Do not backup with time machine" check box, I click OK, it says it's updating virtual machine to the left of the cancel button, it closes, I go (in the top menu) Parallels Desktop -> Quit Parallels Desktop, it shuts down, I open it again, and voila, the check box is unchecked again...

Let me know if you need to know anything else.

Kind Regards
Me
 
Confirmed, Stop was ticked, the VM was not on, I did it again, it still won't work (even with my Ext. backup drive ejected, and turned off)

This is unusual, I don't know why it's doing this, it wasn't always,
It seems like the Do not backup from TC setting isn't being saved when I quit the program.

Kind Regards
Me
 
I just thought of something, I can not edit my TC without putting the password, perhaps it's encountering an error regarding adding that location to the TC to not backup from there...

I will see if I can test this.

Kind Regards
Me
 
Back
Top