Driver Problem with Bluetooth and New Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by ispybadguys, Nov 6, 2013.

1. ispybadguys

ispybadguys Bit poster

I just bought my first Mac, the new Macbook Pro Retina (Late 2013), and downloaded the Trial of Parallels 9.0, so I am new to all of this. I very easily ported my existing Windows 8 x64 laptop but I cannot get the Bluetooth driver to load and I need this to talk to my SMA solar inverters. Per the directions I loaded the latest Bootcamp drivers 5.0.5033 and ran the Bluetooth x64 driver .exe. During the driver installation the installer shows a message that the driver is not installed/needed because there is no supporting hardware. I couldn't get past this so I prepared new VM with a clean install of Windows 7 Ultimate to try my luck. I installed the Bootcamp drivers with the same results. When the devices are shared in Parallels the Win 7 guest detects the devices and installs drivers for the USB and the other devices but no driver for the Bluetooth is found. The USB Bluetooth device shows up in the Device Manager but no driver is found. Going to the device manager the Bluetooth USB device is shown but the status shown is "The drivers for this device are not installed. (Code 28)". Searching Windows Update also produced no driver. I then ran Windows Update and installed all of the latest Windows Updates but this changed nothing. Any ideas out there before my trial expires?

Thanks Kurt

2. strells

strells Product Expert

Before worrying about Parallels, you have to get everything working correctly with Boot Camp. Apple's Boot Camp drivers haven't been updated for a while, so I wonder if they don't yet support BT on your brand new MBP. I'd Google to see if others have this problem. Once you get BT working in Boot Camp, you can proceed with Parallels.