Function keys in Windows control Mac

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by Maxxie, Oct 19, 2011.

1. Maxxie

Maxxie Junior Member

I am totally new to Parallels. Just installed it on a trial basis, in fact. I've gotten Windows XP up and running in Lion with Parallels, and I installed WordPerfect 5.1 for DOS (don't ask why; it's too complicated). WordPerfect for DOS depends heavily on keyboard control and using the alt, shift, and control key in combination with function keys.

Problem: Word Perfect understands a function key all by itself, but it doesn't recognize a function key in combination with the alt, shift, or command key. In fact, Command-F5 initializes the Mac's voice over feature. I have now deactivated that keystroke combo in Mac, but Word Perfect still doesn't get the keystroke combo.

Question: Is there a way to isolate the keyboard completely from the Mac environment so that Windows operates as if it is running via Boot Camp without the Mac in the background? (I can't install XP via Boot Camp because Lion doesn't support anything but Windows 7. I also can't install Windows 7 because WordPerfect doesn't run in Windows 7, and I need to run the old Word Perfect.)

2. Specimen

Specimen Product Expert

There's a keyboard section in Parallels preferences.

3. Maxxie

Maxxie Junior Member

Yes, there is, but . . .

. . . It seems only to emulate keystrokes that one might make on a PC's keyboard. It does not seem to provide an option to divorce keyboard input from the Mac environment entirely--or to isolate the keyboard input within the Windows environment.

If the keyboard control is the only place to go for such issues, then it looks like Parallels isn't the solution to my problem. That same issue with Fusion is why I wound up installing XP via Boot Camp on the older iMac.