Forrest Gump
Member
Hello,
I'm using Parallels 4.0 with primarily Windows guests. The problem I'm running into is that every time Parallels is updated, it feels the need to update Parallels Tools on the windows guest OS without asking me. Consider the situation where you have a Windows guest with say 10 snapshots. Once Parallels is updated, reverting to any of the snaphshots will immediately trigger a reinstall of Parallels Tools, requiring a reboot. This leaves you with two options:
1) Update parallels tools in each of the 10 snapshots, and then re-snapshot and delete the old ones, merging changes.
2) Upon restoring any of the snapshots, wait for parallels tools to re-install and then reboot the whole guest OS.
Neither option is acceptable.
Is there some way to disable this feature?
I'm using Parallels 4.0 with primarily Windows guests. The problem I'm running into is that every time Parallels is updated, it feels the need to update Parallels Tools on the windows guest OS without asking me. Consider the situation where you have a Windows guest with say 10 snapshots. Once Parallels is updated, reverting to any of the snaphshots will immediately trigger a reinstall of Parallels Tools, requiring a reboot. This leaves you with two options:
1) Update parallels tools in each of the 10 snapshots, and then re-snapshot and delete the old ones, merging changes.
2) Upon restoring any of the snapshots, wait for parallels tools to re-install and then reboot the whole guest OS.
Neither option is acceptable.
Is there some way to disable this feature?