Modify Toolbox upgrade process

Discussion in 'Parallels Toolbox Feature Suggestions' started by MichaelL64, Oct 23, 2020.

  1. MichaelL64

    MichaelL64

    Messages:
    1
    I was just presented with a dialog to update Parallels Toolbox. I dismissed it. This repeated every one or two minutes until I accepted it.
    Immediately after the update completed, I was shown a link to read about the upgrade I just installed.
    Please reverse the order of this... from a security point of view, you should notify people of the upgrade and what it contains, and then give them the option to install or to refuse to upgrade at this time.
    It is bad practice to just pop an install dialog box on an unsuspecting user... that is something that malware does, and responsible companies should do everything possible to keep users from becoming accustomed to clicking "yes" without a clear justification.
     
  2. sergk

    sergk Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    520
    Hello,
    what you say looks like a bug. Could you please:
    - check 'Disable automatic updates' option in Parallels Toolbox preferences;
    - generate technical report and post its ID here: https://kb.parallels.com/en/124107
     

Share This Page