New Build 12106 and Desktop 6

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration of Parallels Desktop' started by carlosrodzbotet, Sep 18, 2011.

1. carlosrodzbotet

carlosrodzbotet Hunter

I'm new to both Apple and Parallels so this might seem like a simple question but I've received different answers.

I'm currently using a 2011 Mac Air with factory installed Lion OS (4GB & 128GB), Parallels 6 with Windows 7 (64), external Iomega portable hard drive with 2 partitions (1 exclusively for Time Machine & 1 for Carbon Copy Cloner where every week I clone the entire Mac Disk including Parallels partition). I purchased all three last month and everything is working to my delight for what I'm using it for.

I have just received a Build 12106 update for Parallels 6 and also another email telling me I can now get the free upgrade offer to Parallels 7. I know how Windows Restore works but don't know about Mac regarding this so here are my questions for these scenarios to see if I can better understand the process:

Scenario 1- I update to the new Build 12106 for Parallels 6 and it doesn't work as it was before

Scenario 2- I upgrade to Parallels 7 and it doesn't work like Parallels 6 is working for me. I say this because I've been reading this forum and there are so many issues with 7 that I'm afraid to switch from Parallels 6 which is working fine for my needs although I'd like a few of the new things it does (like remote with the iPhone or iPad) plus it's a free upgrade and the current version.

In Windows I could just Restore and it would revert to the way it all was before and delete any new programs I had installed. Can I just open Time Machine and restore to how I had it yesterday without the update or do I have to uninstall everything and start all over again maybe from the Cloned drive that had all the previous versions installed that were working correctly?

2. Craig Givant

Craig Givant Member

My recommendations