Parallels 15 and Doom 2016?

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by jmeyer, Oct 13, 2019.

Tags:
  1. jmeyer

    jmeyer Bit Poster

    Messages:
    11
    Hello, in https://www.parallels.com/blogs/just-released-parallels-desktop-for-mac/ , Parallels Audience Marketing Manager Kayla Myrhow mentioned that lots of people have been able to run Doom 2016 in Parallels, but I can see no evidence of this in the forums. When I try to run it, I get

    Configured log listener print-redirect tags
    Added structured log listener print-redirect
    Added structured log listener mp-cloud-gobbler
    2019-10-13T16:17:06.538-04:00 LOG: Process started
    Added structured log listener aws-kinesis-logger
    Winsock Initialized
    ------ Initializing File System ------
    Current search path:
    - C:/Users/John Meyer/Saved Games/id Software/DOOM/base/
    - C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/DOOM/base/
    ------ File System initialized.
    ------ Command Line ------
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\DOOM\DOOMx64.exe"
    2019-10-13T16:17:06.553-04:00 LOG: Command Line: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\DOOM\DOOMx64.exe"
    ------ CPU Information ------
    1 CPU package, 6 physical cores, 6 logical cores
    2904 MHz Intel CPU with MMX & SSE & SSE2 & SSE3 & SSSE3 & SSE41 & SSE42 & AVX
    32768 kB 1st level cache, 262144 kB 2nd level cache, 12582912 kB 3rd level cache
    16384 MB System Memory
    initializing resource container gameresources.resources
    initializing resource container gameresources.patch
    idLib::SetProduction( PROD_PRODUCTION )
    ------- Initializing renderSystem --------
    PreliminaryRenderSetup
    ---registered window class
    ---registered fake window class
    ---registered context window class
    X..WGL_EXT_swap_control_tear not found
    ERROR_INVALID_VERSION_ARB
    No address, error: 487
    DOOMx64.exe @ 0x72c97a2d( ) + bytes () : GetGameSystemInterface( )
    DOOMx64.exe @ 0x72c5ad01( ) + bytes () : GetGameSystemInterface( )
    DOOMx64.exe @ 0x72c5ac3d( ) + bytes () : GetGameSystemInterface( )
    DOOMx64.exe @ 0x7202d082( ) + bytes () : GetGameSystemInterface( )
    DOOMx64.exe @ 0x7202cf47( ) + bytes () : GetGameSystemInterface( )
    DOOMx64.exe @ 0x7202cdf1( ) + bytes () : GetGameSystemInterface( )
    DOOMx64.exe @ 0x7202f183( ) + bytes () : GetGameSystemInterface( )
    DOOMx64.exe @ 0x72029e5b( ) + bytes () : GetGameSystemInterface( )
    DOOMx64.exe @ 0x72a189a8( ) + bytes () : GetGameSystemInterface( )
    DOOMx64.exe @ 0x715288b9( ) + bytes () : ** UNKNOWN **( ** FUNC_PARAM_ERROR ** )
    DOOMx64.exe @ 0x72c9a5db( ) + bytes () : GetGameSystemInterface( )
    KERNEL32.DLL @ 0xfbe97bd4( ) + bytes () : BaseThreadInitThunk( )
    ntdll.dll @ 0xfdaaced1( ) + bytes () : RtlUserThreadStart( )
    FATAL ERROR: wglCreateContextAttribsARB failed
    Dumped console text to C:\Users\John Meyer\Saved Games\id Software\DOOM\base\ErrorLog_10-13-2019__04-17-06pm.txt.

    idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
    Shutting down OpenGL subsystem

    ***************************
    FATAL ERROR: wglCreateContextAttribsARB failed

    ***************************


    Any ideas? I'm running a 2018 MBP with Radeon graphics 4GB VRAM under Windows 10 Pro with the latest Parallels Tools installed.
     
  2. Maria@Parallels

    Maria@Parallels Parallels Team

    Messages:
    4,799
    Hi, could you please collect the tech report right after the issue reproduced and post the report's ID here.
     
  3. jmeyer

    jmeyer Bit Poster

    Messages:
    11
    Thank you, Maria. Report #324261149 is on its way. Please let me know if you need more.
     
  4. JensB6

    JensB6

    Messages:
    1
    Hello Maria, did you find a solution for the problem? I encountered that myself. Doom 2016 looks vor AMD drivers on the virtual machine but can't find them. Parallels seems not to tell windows that it works with my eGPU. I use a Razor Core X with AMD card. Thanx, Jens
     
  5. Maria@Parallels

    Maria@Parallels Parallels Team

    Messages:
    4,799
    Could you please collect the tech report and post the report's ID here?
    As we know this issue is under investigation
     
  6. KevinA10

    KevinA10 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Hi Maria ! I'm having the same problem and would like to be informed if you ever find a solution please. My tech report ID is 336154774
    Thank you !
     
  7. Maria@Parallels

    Maria@Parallels Parallels Team

    Messages:
    4,799
    Thank a lot for the provided tech report. May I ask you to update your Parallels Desktop version to the latest build (15.1.3) and check the issue.
    And then if the issue reoccurs create new tech report.
    Thank a lot for your cooperation with us.
     
  8. KevinA10

    KevinA10 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Hi ! You're right I should have updated however that doesn't seem to have fixed the problem. The new tech report ID is 336195427
     

Share This Page