Parallels 6 screen flicker

Discussion in 'Windows Guest OS Discussion' started by Jeremy Bernstein, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. pippel

    pippel Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    yes, here too. new update didn't help. every 30-60 sec flickering. working is not possible !!!
    iMac i7, 27; Guest Windows 7. I disabeled 3D and vertical synchronisation without success. still flickering. I had no problems with parallels 5, only with 6 !
     
  2. serv

    serv Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    809
    Try disabling time synchronization here:
    Parallels menu > Virtual Machine > Configure > Options tab > Advanced > uncheck Time: Synchronize with Mac
     
  3. pippel

    pippel Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    thanks, i think it solved the flickering problem !
     
  4. pippel

    pippel Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    i think it also solved another problem in Office 2003. eg Excel, switched every 10-20 sec to the standard printer. After deactivating the time synchronisation, Excel stays at the printer i want and did never switches back to the standard printer.
     
  5. Jeremy Bernstein

    Jeremy Bernstein Bit Poster

    Messages:
    38
    Unbelievable -- as I suspected, the freezing bug and the screen flicker are related. What it has to do with Time Syncronization is totally unclear, but I hope that the Parallels engineers are working on a resolution of these issues: I like time sync, too...
     
  6. Michael Becker

    Michael Becker Bit Poster

    Messages:
    7
    I disabled time synchronisation, it helped.

    But now I have the question: is there a way to sync manually? (Other than setting the time in Windows manually)

    Thanks and regards,
    Michael
     
  7. Jeremy Bernstein

    Jeremy Bernstein Bit Poster

    Messages:
    38
  8. Michael Becker

    Michael Becker Bit Poster

    Messages:
    7
    Still not solved in 6.0.11994
     
  9. sandyf

    sandyf

    Messages:
    3
    Screen "Flicker" or "twitch"

    I'm running parallels 6 on a brand new MBP (dual core processor, 8mb ram) running windows 7. While operating in coherence mode all my windows applications "jump" up about a half inch from from the bottom of the screen, this happens a few times a minute - irritating to say the least. I can't be sure but it sounds like what others are experiencing here on this thread, which scares me because this problem goes back 6 months with no resolution. Please tell me there's a fix for this. Pretty Please?
     
  10. PhoenixRebourne

    PhoenixRebourne

    Messages:
    3
    I am having the same issue. I will check this thread, but if you find a resolution and PM me I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thanks,

    John
     
  11. JoshP

    JoshP

    Messages:
    9
  12. sandyf

    sandyf

    Messages:
    3
    Yay!

    This fixed my problem:

    Try disabling time synchronization here:
    Parallels menu > Virtual Machine > Configure > Options tab > Advanced > uncheck Time: Synchronize with Mac

    All good
     
  13. Jeremy Bernstein

    Jeremy Bernstein Bit Poster

    Messages:
    38
    Still not fixed in 6.0.12090. Lame, Parallels, very lame. Fix your video driver's interaction with time sync, for crying out loud.
     
  14. alev

    alev Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    435
    Hello, Jeremy!

    Please make sure that you have updated Parallels tools. We have made fixes for this problem in build 12090.
    Could you please send us a Problem Report?

    Thank you.
     
  15. Jeremy Bernstein

    Jeremy Bernstein Bit Poster

    Messages:
    38
    Still happening on 2 VMs (XP, haven't tested W7). Both the screen flicker (now about once a minute or two instead of every 30s) and the app freezing reported in http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?t=106131 are still present and 100% reproducible.

    I've already created problem reports, spent hours on chat with your customer support, etc. I will do it all again, but only if you promise to fix it.
     
  16. mohdf

    mohdf

    Messages:
    25
    update PD build 12090 and the parallels tools .. but my flickering screen happened in Ubuntu 11.04 VM ... before upgrade it works ok with Ubuntu unity environment ... btw .. im reinstalling PD in lion osx GM ....
     
  17. mohdf

    mohdf

    Messages:
    25
    updated to PD 12092 and its parallels tools in mac osx lion GM ... the unity environment now not working as before after i upgrade the PD

    here i attach u a screenshot if i wanna try to login to unity environment
     

    Attached Files:

  18. alev

    alev Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    435
    mohdf,
    Problem is in Unity:
    Somebody who code Unity has a though that "Uniform Index" and "Uniform Location" are the same parameters.
     

Share This Page