lol, I spoke too fast.
While the deleted "Shared Applications" folder never showed up on repeated reboots of the BC VM, I did come across another way for it to come back with more applications unrelated to anything I did.
In this case, I right clicked on an image file I was preparing for a post and got the "Open with" menu selection. I selected a MAC app as shown in file 14. An HP app was selected and opened.
Afterwards, just out of a gut feeling, I checked the "Shared Applications" folder, file 15.
Once again it shows, and the settings for the BC VM are still showing up as having no sharing enabled. Not to mention I never selected anything that is now showing up in the folder that just won't go away.