MuckSavage@mac.com
Bit poster
Just downloaded the latest build (3150).
I noticed under the icon on the windows desktop "Parallels shared folder" that there are two folders. One is the shared folder I already set up (a subfolder of my user folder). The other is named ".Mac" It is basically my hard drive. Which means when I am running windows, it has full access to my entire hard drive. I know for a fact I never set it up to share my hard drive, and I can't remember seeing this folder before 3150. I also see no way of getting rid of it. Dragging it to the trash gives an error, and there is no option under shared folders to get rid of it. This seems like a huge security risk, given windows security problems. It would seem that if a vm windows has access to my entire hard drive, any windows malicious programs could potentially wipe out the OS X drive. Any thoughts?
I noticed under the icon on the windows desktop "Parallels shared folder" that there are two folders. One is the shared folder I already set up (a subfolder of my user folder). The other is named ".Mac" It is basically my hard drive. Which means when I am running windows, it has full access to my entire hard drive. I know for a fact I never set it up to share my hard drive, and I can't remember seeing this folder before 3150. I also see no way of getting rid of it. Dragging it to the trash gives an error, and there is no option under shared folders to get rid of it. This seems like a huge security risk, given windows security problems. It would seem that if a vm windows has access to my entire hard drive, any windows malicious programs could potentially wipe out the OS X drive. Any thoughts?