prl_naptd may not run in proxy-mode under root-account

Erik2_again

Junior Member
My VM suddenly seemed to hang and I noticed the following messages appearing in parallels.log:

09-14 14:13:05.479 F /prl_naptd:17335:207/ prl_naptd will run in proxy mode.
09-14 14:13:05.480 F /prl_naptd:17335:207/ prl_naptd may not run in proxy-mode under root-account.
09-14 14:13:15.511 F /prl_naptd:17341:207/ prl_naptd will run in proxy mode.
09-14 14:13:15.511 F /prl_naptd:17341:207/ prl_naptd may not run in proxy-mode under root-account.
09-14 14:13:25.844 F /prl_naptd:17345:207/ prl_naptd will run in proxy mode.
09-14 14:13:25.844 F /prl_naptd:17345:207/ prl_naptd may not run in proxy-mode under root-account.

Had to do a STOP of the VM as it would not react to anything else. I then started the VM up again but still seeing the same issues in the parallels.log file:
09-14 14:13:05.479 F /prl_naptd:17335:207/ prl_naptd will run in proxy mode.
09-14 14:13:05.480 F /prl_naptd:17335:207/ prl_naptd may not run in proxy-mode under root-account.
09-14 14:13:15.511 F /prl_naptd:17341:207/ prl_naptd will run in proxy mode.
09-14 14:13:15.511 F /prl_naptd:17341:207/ prl_naptd may not run in proxy-mode under root-account.
09-14 14:13:25.844 F /prl_naptd:17345:207/ prl_naptd will run in proxy mode.
09-14 14:13:25.844 F /prl_naptd:17345:207/ prl_naptd may not run in proxy-mode under root-account.

I also see the following messages occurring in the console:
9/14/10 2:13:35 PM com.apple.launchd[1] Warning (com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds
9/14/10 2:13:45 PM com.apple.launchd[1] Warning (com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds
9/14/10 2:13:55 PM com.apple.launchd[1] Warning (com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds
9/14/10 2:14:05 PM com.apple.launchd[1] Warning (com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds
9/14/10 2:14:15 PM com.apple.launchd[1] Warning (com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds
9/14/10 2:14:25 PM com.apple.launchd[1] Warning (com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds
9/14/10 2:14:36 PM com.apple.launchd[1] Warning (com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds
9/14/10 2:14:46 PM com.apple.launchd[1] Warning (com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds
9/14/10 2:14:56 PM com.apple.launchd[1] Warning (com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds


Running the latest build: 11822

Will try restarting my OS, but this might be causing some slowdowns/hanging/loosing network some people might be seeing.
 
Thank you for the report.

This issue is quite harmless, although it looks wierd and of course needs to be fixed. If you don't plan to use Parental Control feature of Parallels Desktop you can start the /Application/Utilities/Terminal and execute command
"sudo rm /Library/LaunchAgents/com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy.plist" (without quotes, will ask for the password)
 
The interesting part was that I started seeing these entries in the log file when my VM seemed to end up being hung. Can't help to think that there was some correlation.

I restarted my OSX and the entries have gone away. I'll monitor to see if it occurs again and if it does I will rename that plist file.
 
Also noticed the same issue, i guess everyone has it.
Imho nothing bad except logs flood and maybe some missing features relate to parental control (which i do not care)

@joevt delete or move, it doesn't matter

if you don't want to reboot in order to apply changes, also run the following command (BEFORE deleting file):
sudo launchctl unload /Library/LaunchAgents/com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy.plist
 
Using launchctl instead

Instead of deleting or moving the executable, I'd recommend instead disabling it. You can use this command from Terminal:

launchctl unload -w /Library/LaunchAgents/com.parallels.vm.prl_pcproxy.plist

The -w is important; it tells launchctl to remember that it's disabled.

If you have multiple users on your Mac, you'll need to do this once for each of them.

If you later need to re-enable it, use the same command, but "load" instead of "unload".
 
Back
Top