Retina Display and Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by TungaK, Feb 4, 2013.

1. TungaK

TungaK Bit poster

Hello,

I am a new Macbook Pro Retina user and would like to ask a question. I run Windows 8 using the very last version of Parallels. I am not happy with the DPI adjustment of Windows 8. Some parts of the windows of Windows 8 programs appear too small or distracted. For example, the menu bar of the Microsoft Office package appear too big or the tabs of Internet explorer 9 appear too small. I use the "best for retina" resolution and let Parallels automatically adjust the resolution and DPI settings. I actually tried some other resolution and DPI combinations but nothing really helps. In either of the many cases the windows programs look sick. Any suggestions for overcoming DPI problems on a Mac running Windows 8?

Thanks.

2. EarlRob

EarlRob Bit poster

I totally concur with TungaK. I am an old Parallels user who has just purchased a retina display MacBookPro and am using it as a financial workstation with Windows 7. I am getting programs that have fonts just way to small. Been trying various methods. Went to Windows Control panel to change the display resolution, but with the settings I have, (?, Auto scaling to fit) it always kept it at approximately 2476x1516 no matter what I try to change the setting to. I am really disappointed with this and if I cannot get the retina display working in Windows, I am getting rid of this MacBookPro. Further, on some of the programs, parts of the display are truncated at the bottom; i.e.. like one cannot see the lower half of the work.

Last edited: Feb 6, 2013
  3. mmm201

mmm201 Member

These are problems with the particular Windows programs you are using, not Parallels.
    (On Mac, when a program doesn't support high DPI, it becomes pixellated. On Windows, parts of it become tiny and things are cut off.)