.
Shutdown on a VM is exactly like shutdown on a native install. All settings are saved.
If you change the screen resolution, cursor theme, or any other such thing, it will all be the same next time.
The only exception to that is possibly the date and time. If the system date or time are changed back in the host OS, then that change will be reflected in the guest VM.
.