Startup time increased unexpectedly

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by AlbertoA2, Aug 4, 2018.

1. AlbertoA2

AlbertoA2 Bit poster

Dear Forum,

I have been using Parallels Desktop for Mac Home Edition for over two years now and I have always been satisfied with the product.
    However, recently I have notice that the startup time of my Windows virtual machine has increased unexpectedly.
    Before, from the moment I used to press the Power button to when I was able to start a program in Windows there was only a 15-16 seconds time span.
    Now, it is about 1 minute and 50 seconds.
    I cannot tell whether this is happening since I have upgraded my Imac to Mac Os Sierra version 10.13.6 (17G65), but I guess so.
    However, here is my system infos:
    Imac 27" Retina Late 2015
    Mac Os Sierra 10.13.6 (17G65)
    Parallels Desktop 13.3.2 (43368)
    Windows Version: Windows Home Edition 1803 Build 17134.165
    Do you have any clue whether there is a relationship between the latest MacOS and startup issues in Parallels?
    Thank you and kind regards,
    Alberto

2. Arun@Parallels

Arun@Parallels Parallels Support

Hi @AlbertoA2 , please follow the steps suggested in the article and check if that helps.

3. AlbertoA2

AlbertoA2 Bit poster

Hi Arun,

many thanks for your reply.
    I followed the steps suggested in the article you linked but it seems that I have no issues with the drivers loaded.
    Still, Wndows now takes 10x to load.
    Kind regards,
    Alberto

4. PaulChristopher@Parallels

PaulChristopher@Parallels Product Expert Staff Member

Hi @AlbertoA2, we would request you to take a Snapshot and to see how your virtual machine performs on shutting down with fast startup enabled, you can disable it in just a few steps:

1. Start the Windows 10 virtual machine and right-click the Start button.
    2. Click Search.
    3. Type Control Panel and hit Enter on your keyboard.
    4. Click Power Options.