Trouble Installing Windows 10 on Parallels 12

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration of Parallels Desktop' started by SteveM6, Sep 19, 2016.

1. SteveM6

SteveM6 Bit poster

I am a newbie with Parallels. I am running Parallels Desktop 12 on my Mac. I have purchased and downloaded Windows 10. I downloaded the Single Language 64-bit version.

I selected Express Install and the Windows Setup launches but gets stuck. It says "Select the operating system you want to install". There is a message that says "No images are available."

Yet clearly there is a boot image since it booted up to Windows Setup.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

-Steve

2. Dinesh@Parallels

Dinesh@Parallels Guest

Hello @SteveM6
    The license which you've purchased for Windows 10 is meant for single language or multilingual? If it's for multilingual, please try download a new ISO for the right version. If the license is for single language, then please stop the installation process and create a new virtual machine. Uncheck "express installation" while creating the virtual machine and continue with the installation process.

3. SteveM6

SteveM6 Bit poster

I just bought a generic Windows 10 Home edition license. I will download the standard Windows 10 and see if that works.

-Steve

4. Dinesh@Parallels

Dinesh@Parallels Guest

Hello @SteveM6
    It will definitely work. Please reach out anytime if you have any questions, we will be glad to assist you!

5. SteveM6

SteveM6 Bit poster

It does seem to have worked. Trick was downloading the standard Windows 10. You might add that to the Windows installation instructions.

6. MuhammadR1

MuhammadR1 Bit poster

H
    Hello,