Unable to launch Image Tool

Discussion in 'Parallels Image Tool' started by mc2, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. mc2

    mc2

    Messages:
    2
    I have Parallels 4.0 build 3846 and am unable to launch the Image Tool. I get the icon bounce for a few minutes and then it stops and does nothing. I found the following entries in my console log that occur each time I attempt to launch the app. I am running it on Snow Leopard.

    9/12/09 9:04:39 AM [0x0-0x84084].com.parallels.server.imagetool[1126] objc[1126]: Class QMacSoundDelegate is implemented in both /Library/Parallels/Parallels Service.app/Contents/MacOS/libQtGui.4.dylib and /Library/Parallels/Parallels Service.app/Contents/Resources/libprl_sdk.dylib. One of the two will be used. Which one is undefined.

    9/12/09 9:04:39 AM [0x0-0x84084].com.parallels.server.imagetool[1126] objc[1126]: Class QNSMenu is implemented in both /Library/Parallels/Parallels Service.app/Contents/MacOS/libQtGui.4.dylib and /Library/Parallels/Parallels Service.app/Contents/Resources/libprl_sdk.dylib. One of the two will be used. Which one is undefined.

    9/12/09 9:04:39 AM [0x0-0x84084].com.parallels.server.imagetool[1126] objc[1126]: Class QNSStatusItem is implemented in both /Library/Parallels/Parallels Service.app/Contents/MacOS/libQtGui.4.dylib and /Library/Parallels/Parallels Service.app/Contents/Resources/libprl_sdk.dylib. One of the two will be used. Which one is undefined.

    9/12/09 9:04:39 AM [0x0-0x84084].com.parallels.server.imagetool[1126] objc[1126]: Class QNSImageView is implemented in both /Library/Parallels/Parallels Service.app/Contents/MacOS/libQtGui.4.dylib and /Library/Parallels/Parallels Service.app/Contents/Resources/libprl_sdk.dylib. One of the two will be used. Which one is undefined.
     
  2. Stuw

    Stuw Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    296
    Hi, mc2

    Which build of Mac OS Snow Leopard do you use? Could you provide the log file?
     
  3. GianmarcoD

    GianmarcoD

    Messages:
    2
    I'm experiencing the same problem as mc2. I've got the same log warning too. I'm working on a Macbook CoreDuo@2.0 GHz under Snow Leopard 10.6.2 (build 10C540) completely uptodate. I own Parellels Desktop 4.0 (build 3848) while the Parallels Image Tool, Parallels Explorer and Parallels Transporter run build 3846 because I tried to resolve the problem following this thread suggestions but with no luck:
    http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?t=93710
    Any help is appreciated.
     
  4. GianmarcoD

    GianmarcoD

    Messages:
    2
    Is there anyone from Parallels Team that can point out a possible solution?
     
  5. Calizak

    Calizak

    Messages:
    1
    Can´t launch Image tool either for another reason

    Every time I try to launch the Image Tool I get this dialog box:


    "Unable to find parallels sdk library"

    Mac Os X
    Parallels 4

    Any help?
     
  6. Stuw

    Stuw Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    296
    Hi, Calizak

    Did you try to reinstall Parallels Desktop?
    Also try to run Parallels Image Tool from terminal.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2010
  7. rstrauch

    rstrauch Bit Poster

    Messages:
    17
    I have the same problem and would like to try reinstalling, except that Parallels 4.0 doesn't seem to be accessible anywhere. How can I get a version that will work.

    Ralph
     
  8. Stuw

    Stuw Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    296
  9. rstrauch

    rstrauch Bit Poster

    Messages:
    17
    Parallels Desktop 4.0.3848 is the version I had. I downloaded it again and reinstalled it, though, hoping that would help. It doesn't. I still get the same behavior. The app begins to launch, then stops responding -- while still using 80-90% of one processor's CPU. The console message below repeats several times during the launch process, the stops, probably when the app becomes unresponsive.

    8/18/10 10:19:30 AM [0x0-0x3db3db].com.parallels.server.imagetool[15612] objc[15612]: Class QNSImageView is implemented in both /Library/Parallels/Parallels Service.app/Contents/MacOS/libQtGui.4.dylib and /Library/Parallels/Parallels Service.app/Contents/Resources/libprl_sdk.dylib. One of the two will be used. Which one is undefined.
     
  10. rstrauch

    rstrauch Bit Poster

    Messages:
    17
    Follow-up: Problem Solved

    I rebooted with a safe boot (holding the shift key through the boot process and through login) and Image Tool loaded all the way and worked. Apparently there's an incompatibility with something else in my system that safe boot didn't load.

    Ralph
     
  11. Stuw

    Stuw Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    296
    I can't reproduce this issue on my Mac OS 10.6.4.

    Please, describe the problem more detailed:
    - what version of Mac OS do you use?
    - app hangs at start or a little later?

    Please, try Parallels Desktop 5. Is this issue still present on Parallels Desktop 5?

    upd:
    Please send a problem report and tell me it's number. I'll compare your configuration with my own.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2010
  12. rstrauch

    rstrauch Bit Poster

    Messages:
    17
    Stuw,

    As far as I'm concerned, my problem is solved. I was able to do what I needed with Safe Boot, and don't need it on any regular basis. If my info can help you resolve the problem more generally though, I'm running 10.6.4 on a 2.2ghz 2007 MacBook Pro. When I launch Image Tool the app will begin to bound in the dock, then freeze part what through the launch process. My only option at that point is to force quit. Since Safe Boot solved the problem, it's clearly a conflict with something else in my system. I submitted a problem report as you requested, id 6459501.

    I haven't upgraded to Paralles 5 because I only use Windows for one particular app so don't need the upgrade.

    Thanks for your help.

    Ralph
     
  13. Stuw

    Stuw Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    296
    Thanks for report. I hope it will be helpful.
     
  14. Jeffrey Dasteel

    Jeffrey Dasteel

    Messages:
    1
    SDK Library Error

    Like an earlier poster I cannot get the image tool to work. I get an SDK Library error. The suggestion was to launch from the terminal. I don't know what that means. Thanks
     
  15. paddys

    paddys

    Messages:
    3
    my own problem is,
    I cannot get Dreamweaver to recognize Fireworks as the image editor. I keep
    getting this message: "Unable to launch Macintosh HD: Macromedia Fireworks
    8:Fireworks 8.app. Please be sure that this application exists and that there
    is enough memory to run it."
     
  16. mikez-123

    mikez-123

    Messages:
    1
    I also try to launch the Image Tool
     
  17. valisas

    valisas

    Messages:
    1
    it is not good .
     

Share This Page