Unable to login to Ubuntu 16.04

Discussion in 'Linux Virtual Machine' started by whereswally, Jul 22, 2018.

1. whereswally

whereswally Bit poster

Hi,

I'm new to Ubuntu and no amount of googling seems to be helping me get around this issue. I have only just installed Ubuntu 16.04 on Parallels, installed Parallels tools to get coherence working, ran the system update on ubuntu and did the reboot. Now I am unable to login to my account. Every time I enter the password it appears to load, only to redirect back to the same screen. I am using a rMBP 2013 13in on macOS High Sierra if it makes a difference. I should also mention that I've encountered the issue 3 times. Each time I've just deleted the VM and reinstalled Ubuntu fresh and I'm still hitting the same problem. Is it user error? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

2. ChrisT11

ChrisT11 Bit poster

I'm having the exact same issue right after I upgraded to Desktop 14 for Mac Pro this week (from ver 13). VM is Ubuntu 14.04 LTS. I tried disabling the automatic parallels tools installation, but that had no effect. Ubuntu is throwing a really quick message before it redirects back to the login screen that says 'System program problem detected'. It goes by so fast I had to do a screen recording to capture it. I am using correct password, as when I try entering the wrong one, I get the appropriate message. Please help. This only started after upgrading the v14 Mac Pro version.

3. ChrisT11

ChrisT11 Bit poster