I have been using build 1970, two standard VMs with Win XP Pro (no Bootcamp). One VM was cloned from the other after system install/activation and then they were used independently on two user accounts.
I have upgraded to build 3186, opened VM1, reinstalled Parallels Tools, and closed VM1. Everything was ok. Then I opened VM2 and WinXP told me I have 3 days to activate it. I reinstalled Parallels Tools, but I still get the activation prompt.
My question is: should I have uninstalled the old Parallels tools before the upgrade? Or is activation forced because the new release reports different hardware to the guest OS (e.g. a lower screen resolution in one of the accounts now results in a change of reported graphics card specs)? If so, then this is a serious caveat that should be described in some release notes, as it may force reactivation by design.
I made copies of my VM folders under Library/Parallels before the upgrade. Can I safely uninstall Parallels or will that delete my machines?
Thanks for any help,
Maciej.
I have upgraded to build 3186, opened VM1, reinstalled Parallels Tools, and closed VM1. Everything was ok. Then I opened VM2 and WinXP told me I have 3 days to activate it. I reinstalled Parallels Tools, but I still get the activation prompt.
My question is: should I have uninstalled the old Parallels tools before the upgrade? Or is activation forced because the new release reports different hardware to the guest OS (e.g. a lower screen resolution in one of the accounts now results in a change of reported graphics card specs)? If so, then this is a serious caveat that should be described in some release notes, as it may force reactivation by design.
I made copies of my VM folders under Library/Parallels before the upgrade. Can I safely uninstall Parallels or will that delete my machines?
Thanks for any help,
Maciej.
Last edited: