Hi Nancy,
If you are upgrading your Parallels Desktop then the Virtual Machine will not get affected at all. Which means that all the settings and the applications installed in your Virtual Machine will remain as it is. After you have finished installing the upgraded Parallels Desktop, it will automatically detect your previously installed Virtual Machine.