What happens to my settings when upgrading??

daveS in NC

Bit poster
The "getting started" manual for desktop for MAC 7 is unclear. Upon upgrading from Parallels desktop 5 for MAC to desktop 7 for MAC, do my settings in 5 automatically transfer over or do I have to re-do all the settings? Is there any way that WIN XP I loaded when desktop 5 was installed will stay somewhere on the computer? Can anyone give me the steps to make this happen correctly?
 
Dave,

There is no reason to worry about keeping your Windows XP- when it has been created all the information stored in the 'Windows XP.pvm' file (name is just an example) which should be stored in /User/Documents/Parallels/ folder in Finder.

This file is not modified during the upgrade and all the settings remain the same.

At the first start of new version of Parallels you may need to re-add virtual machine to the list of registered VMs - you need just to double-click .pvm file and it will be started. Parallels Tools will be reinstalled to a new version and that's all.
 
Back
Top