Windows 10 "Choose what to keep - Nothing" & Parallels 11 mapped files

ChadS3

Bit poster
Hi, I just upgraded from Parallels 8 to 11. Upgrading a virtual machine from Windows 8 to 10. So far everything going smooth. During the Windows 10 upgrade, I'd like to select the "Nothing" option, which says "Everything will be deleted, including files, apps, and settings", to get a clean install on that virtual machine. When viewing explorer in this virtual machine, there are files I need NOT to be deleted though. They are shown under the folder structure:
This PC
>Desktop
>Documents
>Downloads
>Movies
>Music
>Pictures
These folders and files in them appear to map to \\Mac\Home\, shared across all virtual machines. (They are the folders and files under my mac username). On the virtual machine, in explorer, if I were to manually navigate to "This PC", and delete a file in one of these folders, it would be deleted from my mac too. So that's why I'm concerned about the "everything will be deleted" behavior. Will selecting "Choose what to keep: Nothing" preserve or delete these mac mapped files? Thanks for the info.
 
Last edited:
Well, as I didn't know the behavior, in virtual machine preferences, under sharing, for safety sake, I just disabled sharing folders and smart mount before proceeding.
 
Hello ChadS3,
If you choose "Choose what to keep: Nothing", this option will not delete the Mac files, however you did a great thing by disabling the sharing feature on Parallels Desktop as a safety precaution.
 
Back
Top