Any news on Win 98?

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by mdchaney, Nov 14, 2008.

1. mdchaney

mdchaney Junior Member

Like others here, I have a Win 98 vm that ran fine under 3.0 and won't get through the boot process, safe mode or otherwise, under 4.0. I hate even having Win 98 around, but as a web developer I have to test sites under IE6. Ugh.

Just got a new MacBook Pro and this is the only thing keeping me from wiping the old one.

I've been submitting reports, but would love to hear from Parallels.

As an aside, if I check "Primary OS Screenshot" on the error reporter it tells me that the report cannot be sent after spending a few minutes trying to send it. This is a consistent error. FYI.

Michael

2. White fox

White fox Member

I hope the developers can find what makes the Win 98 VM cause a crash on startup when certain programs have been installed(It seems like the programs don´t even have to be ran for the crash to occur at restart). I also don´t like "the return of freeze at shutdown"-glitch. However, as long as one don´t run into a VM crash, everything seems a bit faster, especially with the Parallels Video Adapter installed.
    Please put some effort in locating this bug!

EDIT:
    This article in the knowledge base solved my problem:

http://kb.parallels.com/en/4683

Also discovered that WWMD at the third line of C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT is sometimes necessary.

Last edited: Nov 15, 2008
  3. mdchaney

mdchaney Junior Member

I've already had that workaround installed on my win98. The issue of it not booting after the 4.0 upgrade is separate.

4. Specimen

Specimen Product Expert

If you have win98 (comes with IE4) just to run IE6, then you should know that IE6 runs on Win2K (comes with IE5.5 but it's upgradable to IE6) and WinXP (comes with IE6).

5. White fox

White fox Member