Sluggish - and worse

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration of Parallels Desktop' started by EmeryK, Oct 21, 2018.

1. EmeryK

EmeryK Junior Member

I've posted one other question here several weeks ago. Still frustrated. My Mac (21 inch iMac Desktop with 8GB Ram and 1TB hard drive - not an SSD) continues to be near worthless with Parallels. The entire computer is a crawl. Launching Word takes several minutes, keyboard has lag, everything is just downright slow slow. I'm fairly new to Mac and a first-time parallels user. As mentioned in an earlier post I gave up on Parallels once and went to a straight BootCamp installation of Windows. Then I decided to try Parallels 14. During the trial period I was impressed. It seemed to work almost "unnoticed" (Windows and Mac performed great).

Now it is mostly sluggish. Occasionally it seems better. I don't know enough about Mac to diagnose the cause. I've thought it could be a RAM issue. But most of the time the Activity Monitor still shows Memory Pressure in the green rather than yellow. I don't want to throw darts at the board - I'd be willing to add ram or consider an SSD upgrade if that would help. But on this forum I've seen some posts alleging poor performance with really good hardware specs.

Can someone give help?

2. PaulChristopher@Parallels

PaulChristopher@Parallels Product Expert Staff Member

Hi @EmeryK, we would suggest you to disable if any anti-virus is installed, and then follow the step mentioned below to fix the slow performance in a Windows virtual machine.
    Inside the Windows press the Start button > Cogwheel Settings icon > System > Power and sleep > Additional power settings > Choose what power buttons do > Change settings that are currently unavailable > Turn on fast startup (recommended) > Uncheck > Save changes.

3. EmeryK

EmeryK Junior Member