cannot use Parallels hypervisor on macOS Big Sur

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by AlexV3, Nov 13, 2020.

1. RickC4

RickC4 Bit poster

I am a bit new at using Parallels (had been using another VM previously). where/how do you go to your Parallels folder?

2. Alf2

Alf2 Bit poster

If you instance is paused, and you can't change the hypervision type, use this solution, it's works for me.
    1. Remove all third-party kernel extensions from the /Library/Extensions/ folder.
    2. Click OK in the notification from macOS about kernel extensions.
    3. Go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > General, then click Allow button and enable (re-enable) Parallels International GmbH kernel extension.
    4. Restart the Mac and start Parallels Desktop and virtual machine again.
    https://kb.parallels.com/en/125039

3. MunirN

MunirN Bit poster

Hi,
    I was also getting same error. Following the below method, my issue resolved and now Windows 10 working fine on my MacBook Pro M1. Method is :-
    1) In Parallel Desktop--> File --> New--> Select manual source file
    Then wait for setup completion. I think so there is no issue of Hypervisor settings either Apple OR Parallel. Can check the performance issue later.
    Try yourself and reply if this works on your system. Stay safe

4. AlefS

AlefS Bit poster

I just went to "Action" > "Stop" and then was able to do so.

5. Hello guys, what Parallels Desktop version are you using?

6. JuanA8

JuanA8 Bit poster

7. ThomasL30

ThomasL30 Bit poster

When I get to the configurations page and click the CPU & Memory tab I have a message at the top that says "to be able to change the settings on this page, resume the virtual machine and then shut it down." Well when I resume the virtual machine "parallels" I get the the message about the restarting my Mac so the hypervisor can update. Any suggestions

8. Rick L

Rick L Bit poster

Option 2 on this page worked for me: https://kb.parallels.com/en/125319