Cannot boot my VM after upgrade to 13

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration' started by fpmalard, Aug 24, 2017.

  1. fpmalard

    fpmalard Bit Poster

    Messages:
    14
    I have just installed the upgrade and my VM simply doesn't boot.
    I have 3 disk images and 1 cd. The POST screen says none of them were find to boot.
    I have also tried to remove and add these images again to my VM configuration, no luck.
    Here is my POST screen and VM configuration screen:

    Screen Shot 2017-08-24 at 14.46.39.jpg

    Screen Shot 2017-08-24 at 14.45.11.jpg

    Any clue?

    Regards,
    Fernando.
     
  2. fpmalard

    fpmalard Bit Poster

    Messages:
    14
    I have returned to V12 once I need to work and cannot wait for a solution.
    V12 started normally so it seems V13 is broken.
    Have you guys at Parallels really tested V13 before releasing it?
    It seems you didn't! :mad:
     
  3. rkulikov

    rkulikov Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    240
    Can you please reproduce the problem, make VM window active, in Mac application menu go to Help -> Send Technical Data. Post problem report id here.
     
  4. fpmalard

    fpmalard Bit Poster

    Messages:
    14
    Hi, I'm sorry but I had to return to V12 once I have to work.
    I have tried to reassign the HD drives again as suggested here: http://kb.parallels.com/123150
    Same problem, even being there the HDs are not recognized as valid boot units.
    I have reinstalled V12 (without changing anything in my VM configuration) and my VM worked again without any issue.
    I'm pretty sure there is something wrong with V13.
    I will try to test it again and generate the report.
    Thank you.
     
  5. viola

    viola Bit Poster

    Messages:
    65
    I think there is an EFI boot problem in 13 since it is missing now in the configuration settings where it used to be present.
     
  6. john@appmagic.com

    john@appmagic.com Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    I have the same problem with Windows 10 after installing Parallel Tools.
    And I send the Technical Data with ID #208993343
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2017
  7. fpmalard

    fpmalard Bit Poster

    Messages:
    14
    I have tried again with version 13.0.1. Same problem. I have submitted the report ID 211735917.
    See attached screenshot of the error I'm experiencing:

    Screen Shot 2017-09-12 at 21.04.20.jpg
     
  8. Apple25

    Apple25 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    Guys did anyone find a solution yet ?
     
  9. JasperL

    JasperL Bit Poster

    Messages:
    3
    I have the same issue like yours.
    I can't open my bootcamp windows 10 in existence on parallels desktop after upgrading to Parallels desktop from 11 to 13.
    So far, I can't still find any solutions.
     
  10. MichaelC23

    MichaelC23 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    I have a similar problem with 13. It takes for ever for the log in screen to appear in Windows 10. 13 seems to run much slower than 12. Any ideas?
     
  11. LeoK2

    LeoK2 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    I have the same issue.
    Anyone knows how I can downgrade to previous version????
     
  12. fpmalard

    fpmalard Bit Poster

    Messages:
    14
    Hi LeoK2,
    I did this, reinstalled V12 and my VM worked just fine.
    As you didn't boot the VM in V13 the Parallels tools and drivers weren't upgraded so the VM is intact.
    Once you install V12 it will replace V13 and keep your VMs with the same configuration.
    One thing I'm not sure is if V12 will run in HighSierra which will come up next Monday. If it doesn't I will need to hold the macOS update until Parallels resolve this issue. Hopefully now that are more users complaining about it they would spend more time trying to resolve that.
    Regards.
     
  13. MichaelC23

    MichaelC23 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Hi LeoK2

    I manage to log in by reducing the Windows 10 full screen image to my working window and the log in then appears. It is getting faster. Unfortunately I have logged in so it looks as if I can't reinstall V12
     
  14. AlanQ1

    AlanQ1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    5
    Since you can get into your VM, you should be able uninstall Parallels Tools (from within Windows) and then downgrade your Parallels version. Back up your VM beforehand.

     
  15. AlanQ1

    AlanQ1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    5
    Definitely slower...even after logging in, it takes forever so that the VM is usable. The icons on the taskbar take forever to load and even after you see them, clicking them doesn't do anything but give you a spinner. Once it finally loads everything, it appears to work as normal, but it is definitely much slower than 12.

     

Share This Page