Quick question: Moving the VM file while it's running

TimothyL

Bit poster
I did this by accident while setting up my new Mac.

Parallels 6 closed the VM and told me that the file was "[moved or deleted]".

I relocated the file for Parallels 6 and it's working fine now.

My question:
Is this unsafe for the machine? I don't know how Macs work and my PC administrator knowledge is non-existent.
What I'm concerned about is if this created some unseen damaged files or fragments.
If that's the case I'm going to restore the system to before I accidentally moved the file before closing the VM.

Thanks.
 
I suppose, PD noticed that the VM file was not existed where it should has been, when it wanted to read/write from/to the VM file. Only your last operation hasn't been done. I think there's nothing to worry about if everything is normal after moving the file to it's old location.
 
Back
Top