KB from Ontario
Junior Member
Arrrgghhh !!!
ARRRGGHHH !!!
I was foolish enough to upgrade from 8.0.1 (something) to the current 8.0.18608 and once again I see Parallels has installed otions, without prompting or warning or notice, and now when you right-click on a file in Windows 7, the resulting file menu includes "Open on Mac" and "Show in Finder" options showing up where they did not previously. This change is ONLY a result of following the normal Parallels upgrade process and by no action of the user.
I do not want these options, as noted earlier in this thread. Before I upgraded I had managed to turn these options off (and No, YanaYana and other Parallels support people, I did not have a corrupt installation and did not need to reinstall as was mistakenly said by you in above). You can see in Post #22 I had to do this manually.
In spite of how I have configured the Virtual Machine, Parallels has overwritten my configuration and left no means by which to turn these unwanted options off.
Why do you folks at Parallels do this? It is simply wrong of you to do this without explicit user consent. In light of all the posts about such things Parallels still makes this error at the expense of us mere users - you know, the people that pay you cash for your application and have to pay if we want support.
OK, so I admit to ranting here but for good reason.
How can I PERMANENTLY turn these options OFF?
If I can't turn them off permanently (which is the case now) how can I turn these options OFF until the next update turns them back on without prompting or notice?
Please help.
Secondarily, please fix this annoyance.
ARRRGGHHH !!!
I was foolish enough to upgrade from 8.0.1 (something) to the current 8.0.18608 and once again I see Parallels has installed otions, without prompting or warning or notice, and now when you right-click on a file in Windows 7, the resulting file menu includes "Open on Mac" and "Show in Finder" options showing up where they did not previously. This change is ONLY a result of following the normal Parallels upgrade process and by no action of the user.
I do not want these options, as noted earlier in this thread. Before I upgraded I had managed to turn these options off (and No, YanaYana and other Parallels support people, I did not have a corrupt installation and did not need to reinstall as was mistakenly said by you in above). You can see in Post #22 I had to do this manually.
In spite of how I have configured the Virtual Machine, Parallels has overwritten my configuration and left no means by which to turn these unwanted options off.
Why do you folks at Parallels do this? It is simply wrong of you to do this without explicit user consent. In light of all the posts about such things Parallels still makes this error at the expense of us mere users - you know, the people that pay you cash for your application and have to pay if we want support.
OK, so I admit to ranting here but for good reason.
How can I PERMANENTLY turn these options OFF?
If I can't turn them off permanently (which is the case now) how can I turn these options OFF until the next update turns them back on without prompting or notice?
Please help.
Secondarily, please fix this annoyance.
Last edited: