DerekS said:Can someone confirm or disconfirm that doing the custom install of parallels tools stops this behavior? I have already rolled back to 3188 (and downloaded VMWare, though I don't want to use it.)
To the parallels folks, let me make something very clear:
I never want Windows to have access to my Mac in any way.
Frankly I am shocked this feature made it in without a toggle and security warning; I thought you guys learned from the backlash on global sharing.
As for the comment that nobody in beta complained - clearly the beta program was not wide enough.
I was unable to defeat it on my system even by removing and re-installing Parallels Tools. I've not tried using the Reset command as suggested by Andrew. I agree - SmartStart does not give me "piece of mind" (see the mis-worded banner at the top of the page
I have to give Parallels B+ for this upgrade - most of it is excellent stuff but worthless if this feature cannot be disabled. As for the beta testers - I guess I should have applied after all - I'd have raised a ruckus immediately, but it's bad form to implicate the testers vs the internal coders/architects.