Windows 10 and older MacOS VMs in Parallels 15 together?

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by robbie1, Apr 21, 2020.

  1. robbie1

    robbie1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    Hi,
    can i run either of the VMs: Windows 10 or MacOS Mojave on my Catalina MBPro without issues?
    I'm just about to install a Mojave VM on my Parallels 15 additionally to the Windows 10 VM.

    Tha machine is a 2.9 GHz i9, 32 GB RAM and Vega 20 (4GB)...
    Thanks.
    rob
     
  2. Maria@Parallels

    Maria@Parallels Parallels Team

    Messages:
    6,846
    Hi, yes, you can.
    Please check this KB article for more info and let us know if it's not that case.
     
  3. robbie1

    robbie1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    Hi Maria,
    thanks for looking into it. I just come from this article. But my question is not about installing a Mojave VM, but about _coexistence of two VMs: Windows 10 and older macOS_. Could be any issues in either of the two?
    Bye.
     
  4. kat

    kat Product Expert

    Messages:
    803
    I have several vm's I have Win 7 and 10, Mac Mojave and Catalina and two other vm on my Mac Pro with macOs Catalina at this time. I run them separately. Issues generally occur when you don't allocate enough resources to the VMs or your actual OS.
     
  5. robbie1

    robbie1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    Thanks, kat. This is what i wanted to hear ;)
     
  6. kat

    kat Product Expert

    Messages:
    803
    Hi robbie1
    I forgot to let you know which Parallels I am working with. I am using Parallels 15 pro edition.
     
  7. robbie1

    robbie1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    kat, it seems to have worked, anyway :)
    BTW, how do i make my external USB drives (from Catalina) visible in the Mojave VM?
    Thanks again.
    rob
     
  8. kat

    kat Product Expert

    Messages:
    803
    Hi rob

    Insert your usb device into your Mac with your vm running.
    . Screen Shot 2020-04-23 at 1.49.20 PM.png Screen Shot 2020-04-23 at 1.49.43 PM.png


    also if you are having other usb issues please see this knowledge base article if may help you: https://kb.parallels.com/en/111725
     
  9. robbie1

    robbie1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    thanks again, kat :)
    makes sense...
     
  10. kat

    kat Product Expert

    Messages:
    803
    Hi Rob,
    Your welcome, I am glad I could help.
    kat
     
  11. robbie1

    robbie1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    unfortunaltey it doesn't work. The new drive opens in Catalina, no reaction from Mojave... On Windows it does work, BTW.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. kat

    kat Product Expert

    Messages:
    803
    Hi in Configuration make sure USB 3 is enabled under advanced Settings.
    Screen Shot 2020-04-26 at 3.39.28 PM.png
     

    Attached Files:

  13. kat

    kat Product Expert

    Messages:
    803
    I should have asked but have you installed Parallels Tools into the Mojave VM?
     
  14. robbie1

    robbie1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    OK, i think i'll manage it :) thanks
     
  15. robbie1

    robbie1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    no, i get a message to install from a CD, which i don't have (it's Parallels 15 Home)...

    BTW, a way to install & configure a printer or a scanner (it was the main reason to have this VM on my Catalina) is like a usual Mac installation, ot should i know anything more?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. kat

    kat Product Expert

    Messages:
    803
    You should still be able to install doing it by having vm open along the top menu (next to the apple on your Mac) select Actions>Reinstall Parallels tools>then follow the prompts to complete the installation. Screen Shot 2020-04-26 at 9.40.29 PM.png

    Installing any software inside of the vm is like installing it in any OS.
     
  17. robbie1

    robbie1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    i have only 'install...', not 'reinstall...'... do i need them?
     

    Attached Files:

  18. kat

    kat Product Expert

    Messages:
    803
    Yes you need to install Parallels tools they help your VM to run properly. I get the message to reinstall Parallels Tools because I already have it installed in my VM.
     
  19. robbie1

    robbie1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    kat,
    the reinstallation was possible on Windows (which has repaired my MS Word from another thread - thanks for this tip :)), but on Mojave it's still the CD issue.
    BTW, is this the same Parallels Tools as for the Mojave VM?
    rob
     
  20. kat

    kat Product Expert

    Messages:
    803
    No not exactly the same to find when your vm is on go to the CD Screen Shot 2020-04-27 at 2.49.33 PM.png Select connect Image
    A finder search window will come up then: go to Applications>Parallels desktop app>Contents>Resources>Tools>Prl-tools-mac.iso click on the tools for Mac.
    the install should start.
     

Share This Page