Palm Hotsync- USB device problem

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by JoshSpurlock, Nov 21, 2008.

1. austinwork@josh.com

austinwork@josh.com Bit poster

This is ridiculous i have been using Parallels since 2006 and syncing has never been an issue.

I promote the product to friends, family and at my office i am phasing PC's out and Mac's with Parallels in.

I all hear from Parallels is a bunch of very polite BS.

The big bad 4.0 version is releaased faster better etc and all i got is a headache and plenty of polite responses and tech support where 1 in 5 techs actually know what they are doing but no results, Is it time to try VMware?

2. pjbusto

pjbusto Bit poster

Successful USB Palm sync...three times

So I'm a newbie to Mac and these issues, but veteran Palm and Windows user. I've been frustrated for about 5 weeks with this issue and following the forums here and elsewhere. I'm not sure if this would help with the debugging, but I'm dying for a reliable fix too, so here is my experience on this:

-New MacBook Pro running OS X Version 10.5.6
    -New Palm Treo 755p 1.07-SPNT
    -Parallels Desktop 4.0 Build 4.0.3810 with VM running Windows XP Pro, SP3 and IE7
    -Palm desktop with Hotsync 7.0.2 on the WinXP VM

I've been having the same headaches as are noted in this forum. However, over the past 3 weeks I have successfully performed a Hotsync three times (in over 100 attempts). The first time I don't recall how or why. The second time was after closing all apps but my WinXP VM. The third time, I had three apps open (the WinXP VM, Safari and iTunes) and closed the MacBook Pro's lid. When I opened the lid (VM was already in focus) I connected my palm via USB cable and pushed the Hotsync button. It prompted me with that well-known error to stop and restart the Hotsync. I simply clicked the ok box and did not interrupt the Hotsync. Then it connected and the Treo performed a complete hotsync with my Parallels VM running WinXP Pro.